Ten Things I’ve Learned (Outside School)

08th September, 2015. 3:45pm

Writing 101, Day 2: Write a list

Today, let’s write a list.
Today, write your own list on one of these topics:

  • Things I Like
  • Things I’ve Learned
  • Things I Wish
OUAT Regina Mills Evil Isn't Born It's Made

Photo c/o: goldenheartaly.tumblr.com

I’ve thought long and hard about today’s assignment, which is weird considering what we need to write today is just a simple list. But being the paranoid and OC that I am, of course I deliberately thought about it. I don’t want to make a list of the things that I like, because I feel like y’all already know me better than my own friends does, and I also don’t like making a list of the “Things I Wish” because… well, I just don’t feel like it. So on to the Things I’ve Learned it is.

As I was trying to think about the assignment while sneezing and blowing my nose every thirty seconds, **damn, allergies! I know, sorry; TMI. I realized there are a couple of things I actually wanted to share. At first, I planned to share about Ten Things I’ve Learned from my favorite TV shows, but I realized I’d be biased because I probably could pull off two or three TV shows I’m currently watching. So instead, I decided to share a list of things I’ve learned outside school. They say experience is the best teacher but sometimes, learning things just by reading, watching and listening to other people can also give you wisdom you can take with you as you journey through life.

Now, without further ado, here’s my own list of the Ten Things I’ve Learned outside of school:

1. “Evil isn’t born, it’s made, and so is good.” — Regina Mills, Once Upon a Time
In case you still didn’t know, or if you are a new follower of mine, yes, I do love Once Upon a Time. I’m actually fortunate to be working as a shownotes writer at ONCE Podcast. I am first sharing this quote because I think it’s so true. In life, it is only you who can decide which path you take. If you have power, it is only you to decide however which way to use it. If you’re above someone else, will you take advantage of it for your own good only or for the good of all? It’s such a simple but powerful statement that everyone can and should remember.

2. “Trust is a precious commodity. Once you lose it, it’s pretty hard to get it back.” — Leo Wyatt, Charmed
Yesterday, I saw a video on Youtube posted by Glamour Magazine about a then-couple who were asked to sit down next to each other and talk about why their seven-year relationship ended. The first question goes, “Why did you cheat on me?”, which made me think of this particular line from Charmed. When the person you care about cheated on you, there will always be a voice at the back of your head that will make you doubt that person even after he or she has said sorry. Trust is like a double-sided tape. You can’t expect it to still be the way it once was after peeling off one side.

3. “If a secret is not yours to tell, don’t.” — Pretty Little Liars
This isn’t a direct quote from the show or the novel, but it’s still what the story kind of is all about. And it’s true, you know. Whether you want to admit it or not, we’ve all been there before, when we spill someone’s secret to someone else. Maybe you outed your friend to his or her family when you know for a fact that they’re not ready to come out yet. Perhaps a friend told you in confidence about a challenge that she’s going through and you blabbered it to someone else and that someone else made fun of that friend. Well, guess what? It’s not a nice attitude. I’m pretty sure none of us would want to be on the other end, right? So stop. If a secret is not yours to tell, please, shut your mouth and keep their secret to yourself.

4. “It takes an athlete to dance, but an artist to be a dancer.” — Paula Abdul, So You Think You Can Dance
This season of So You Think You Can Dance brought two dancers that best represent artistry. There’s Gaby Diaz, a tapper with incredible technique that she can dance whatever genre and do it effortlessly. And then there’s Jaja Vankova, a krumper who has never had any formal dance training prior to joining the show. Sure, she’s attended a couple of dance classes before, but we all know that attending classes doesn’t really mean anything. But what Jaja lacks in technique, she makes up for emotion, which resonates in her performances. She may fail to point her toes from time to time, but no one can deny the fact that she is an amazing artist. I’m not saying that Gaby isn’t as good as Jaja, because she is crazy good, but between the two of them, my heart belongs to Jaja. I just love the way she does her number and the emotions she gives to each routine.

5. “Don’t you ever let a soul in the world tell you that you can’t be exactly who you are.” — Lady Gaga
Be yourself, and don’t be afraid to let the world know who you really are. Plain and simple.

6. “If you ain’t got nothing nice to say, just shut the f*ck up!” — Lea Salonga
I know there’s that what we call “freedom of expression”, but just because you have the right to say things doesn’t mean that you should do it all the time. Nowadays, people are so brave to voice out their opinion simply because it is so easy to hide behind usernames and avatars, but we also sometimes forget that words cut deeper that a knife. So for the love of freedom of expression, please, think before you tweet.

7. “It’s nice to be important but it’s important to be nice.” — Coco Rocha
Being given a talent that allows you to be looked upon is like winning the lottery. However, it is also very important to stay humble. Even if you think you’re all that, keep in mind that nobody likes to work with an asshole.

8. “You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.” — Derek Hough, Move Live on Tour
For the past three months, I have been spending three days a week teaching contemporary dance to my old theater club in college for a dance musical set to be staged in January next year. I know they’re not dancers so I can’t expect them to get into a dancer level, but I always believe that practice makes perfect or, at the very least, perfect enough. I know this quote said by Derek Hough is for dancers, but I believe it also applies in real life. You don’t have to be a writer to write, but you have to write to be a writer. You know what I mean. I hope.

9. “I’d rather come to the office early and ugly than late and pretty.”
Now, this is a lesson I’ve learned from being a working girl. When my Mom was alive, she taught me to go to work or school unless a. I’m dying or, b. the school/government announced suspension of classes/work, but this I learned from experience. When I was still going to the office, I have been the recipient of the Best in Attendance for four consecutive years. Why? Because of the five years I have been with my former company, I can proudly say that I have been late for only about 20 times. There were even two or three straight years that I was never late nor absent. For me, I’d rather come in early than late, because I can do so much more if I come an hour early for my shift—have breakfast, do my makeup, and chat with people. When you’re late, not only will you get reprimanded, you will also lose a percentage of your salary. So thanks, but I’d rather come makeup-free.

10. “Miscommunication is the root of all evil.”
Okay, so this last line was actually from my Communications professor in sophomore college, but I’ve always believed it. They said money is the root of all evil? Wrong. Miscommunication is. It’s what keeps us from having a peaceful relationship with one another. If we only learn to communicate effectively, the world will be a much better place to live in.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

11 thoughts on “Ten Things I’ve Learned (Outside School)

  1. Pingback: When My Brain Farts

  2. Yes, I am a Filipina and Lea Salonga gave you away lol 🙂 I am a freelancer too so when I read about the Podcast thing, I knew, though I am not that good a freelancer like you 🙂 Still, I think you are a graduate of a University in Metro Manila or other place since you mentioned theatre and dancing. No, it is not too much praise, I say what I mean and I mean what I say. Great to know you! 🙂

    Like

  3. Alas! I’m right, just by reading your post I thought you are a Filipino or Filipina, until it was confirmed by the logo below where it says Proudly Pinoy. I can say since I’m not yet reading Introducing Me page that you are a Filipina, in your mid- or late 20’s, a graduate of one of the major universities in the Philippines, probably U.P. or U.S.T., you now work as a freelancer. I hope I am right on at least 1 lol 🙂 Great post! You are right, I didn’t regret reading your post. I can say Kudos to you, you are a very good writer and punctual too! – which I am not 🙂 Yes, you don’t have to be a writer to write but you have to write to be a writer. Now, I can say you are a WRITER 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are mostly right! I am a Filipina, in my late 20s, a freelance writer but nope, I didn’t graduate in UP or UST or any of those top universities in the country. I am a Comm grad, but not from those universities you mentioned. How did you know I was a Filipina? Are you? Oh and thanks for everything. I think that’s too much praise, and it feels awkward, but thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?