The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

14th January, 2015. 10:52am

Sisterhood-of-the-World-Bloggers-Award

I used a different image because, well, I love reading and this image have books in it.
Photo c/o: http://www.smwbookblog.com

About a month ago, my gorgeous blogging buddy, Lucile de Godoy (or Mommy Lu, as I like to call her) nominated me for The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. I wasn’t able to do it then because the Christmas spirit took over (*okay, it’s more like I don’t really have much time to blog) and I completely forgot about it despite taking a mental note that I will do it once my two-week Christmas vacation starts. It was a lie, of course. I never had “more time” to write. Less sleep, yes, but more time to write? Nah uh.

But all that is over, and I’m back to regular programming, so I’m finally doing it. It may have taken me a month to do this, but here I am, taking a shot at it.

I tried searching on when it started, or who started it even. Some say it dated back in 2012, while another post said 2011. The point is, my search engine prowess fails miserably (**fine, I’m actually just feeling really lazy to dig deep right now).

So what is The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award all about? Let me tell you about its very simple rules:

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award

Photo c/o: luciledegodoy.com

  • Provide the link to the person who nominated you.
  • Add the reward logo.
  • Answer the questions your nominator has asked.
  • Nominate 5 other bloggers and let them know via comments.
  • Ask your nominees 5 questions.

Now, to answer Mommy Lu’s questions:

1. What do you like or dislike about this time of the year?
What do I like about this time of the year? Only one thing: AFLS invades Hong Kong. That and the Papal Visit this coming weekend. Me and my family are planning to attend the mass this Saturday. On the other hand, I know I’m really going to hate my credit card bill when it arrives. Yikes!
2. Do you know how to cook and can you share a typical and delicious recipe from your country?
Only the basic ones because, well, I am such a Princess. (**okay, the answer is NO. I know how to fry and all that, but I am never going to be a Master Chef) Like I said, I don’t cook, but me and siblings make one mean Leche Flan (the Pinoy version of a caramel custard).
3. What is old/aging for you?
I don’t mind it at all. There would be times when I forget how old I am, simply because I’m so bad at Math that it takes me a while to calculate my age, but I don’t mind getting old or aging at all. It’s a blessing to live another year.
4. Did you know any of these nominated bloggers, and if not, would you check their blogs now?
Honestly? No. I saw that one of the fellow nominees also lives in the Philippines, which is great, but I don’t think I have personally checked their websites. But yes, since Mommy Lu asked, I will check them out, too!
5. Are you mad at me because I nominated you for this award and you have extra work to do now?
Not at all! Although I don’t really get what people see in my blog, or why they thought my blog is whatever they think it is, I am glad and honored to be part of this nomination.

And now, it is my turn to pass the baton and nominate five other awesome bloggers that I hope you all could check out one day. Since this is called the “Sisterhood of the World” Bloggers Award, I decided to make my nomination a little bit more personal:

Pierra of Magpie of Kawaii – meet Pierra Calasanz-Labrador, probably the best MEG editor there is. I know there is zero chance that she will do this, but I nominate her nevertheless because I love her tiny poems and I respect her dearly.
Ana Zamudio of When Ana Walks Away – Remember the friend I was talking about that I want to invite as a guest blogger? Well, here she is. Her blog is basically still empty, and I’ve been berating her to blog already, but I still nominate her because she’s my baby sister from College and she’s also one of my best friends.
Mabel of Slouching Somewhere – Because her posts about her travels makes me feel like she’s taking me with her. Also, she’s one of the former MEG editors I look up to and she’s awesome.
Gail of Soul Meets Universe – Gail was a former office mate who is now living in Sharjah with her husband. Her daily musings about living in the Emirates and scrap-booking always fascinates me. Plus, she takes wicked photographs!
Margot Wood of The Real Fauxtographer – Speaking of wicked photographs, my fifth nominee goes to Margot Wood. Yes, Margot of Epic Reads’ Tea Time. Okay, so Margot isn’t really related to me in whichever way, but I still nominate her because her fauxtos are amazing. For someone who loves reading, YA lit especially, knowing someone who takes your favorite novel’s cover photo into a different level is a dream come true. Her photographic and Photoshop skills makes every fauxtos she takes even more beautiful. Perhaps working for a publishing company like HarperCollins (and a host of Epic Reads’ Tea Time) really do have its perks! Check out her website and see how right I am!

As for my 5 questions, here they are:
1. What was the best thing that has ever happened to your blog/website last year?
2. If you could switch bodies with anyone in the world for a day, who would it be and what would you do?
3. Was there ever a lie you were told when you were young that you wish were true?
4. If you had a twin in a parallel universe, what do you think he/she would say about you right now? What would you say to him/her?
5. If anyone could write your life story, which author would you choose and what approach do you want him/her to go with (ie; fiction, non-fiction, etc.)?

There you go. I don’t know if these five bloggers will even pay attention to this, but either way, I am fortunate and honored to have been nominated by Mommy Lu, and to nominate these five people not only for their gift of words, but for simply being them.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Thoughts?