Veritaserum

30th September, 2014. 11:33am

Blogging 101, Day 12: Make a Prompt Personal

Today’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on today’s Daily Prompt.

FINALLY something new. And something that actually makes me think.

Why? Because I have never tried taking on the daily prompts before. I blog mostly to record my thoughts and share what’s on my mind, not to change the world or someone else’s point of views through my writing. So day twelve’s assignment is actually pretty exciting for me.
.
.
.
* Checks Today’s Prompt*
.
.
.
*Thinks*
.
.
.
*Slashes Wrist*
.
.
.
*Blacks out*

Okay, so the daily prompt is nothing like I imagined. Today’s assignment is right though, it does make me think. But come to think of it, this is actually quite fun.

So today’s prompt asks:

“You’ve come into possession of one vial of truth serum. Who would you give it to (with the person’s consent, of course) — and what questions would you ask?”
Veritaserum

Photo c/o: reyvolution.deviantart.com

The truth is that the first person that comes to mind is myself. I don’t know why. Maybe there are questions I wanted to ask myself, as well as things I want answered. Like, what do I really want to do when my sister leaves or am I really alright with this void I am currently feeling? How do I really feel about our current situation at home? Who do I love more? Such questions that I would want to answer, but that I’m afraid I’m not ready for.

The question, though, is will I consent to it? Probably not. Who would, right?
Here’s the thing: everyone lies. It’s what we lie about and the intent behind it that makes it better or worse.

As for who I want to give it to, hmmm… now that’s the question. I would really love to give one to my dad. I want to know what he feels about everything that he’s done, assuming he’s feeling anything, of course. But whether I can get the truth out of him does not matter. I’ve already tried using another form of truth serum before. I wrote him a letter telling him of the truth inside of me. Wanna know what happened? He cried. A week later, he went back to his old habits. There I was, pouring my heart out, hoping to change his mind and heart and what did I get in return? A quarter pool of tears and nothing more. Yay.

How very anticlimactic.

They say that the truth sets you free. The thing is, it doesn’t. It locks you up even more. The worse part is it never prepares you for the emotional roller coaster ride you’re about to go after. And it sucks… especially when you were hoping to hear a different answer.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

 

19 thoughts on “Veritaserum

  1. Pingback: The Hardest Post Ever | When My Brain Farts

  2. Pingback: Dear Dream Reader… | When My Brain Farts

  3. Pingback: They’re Amazing, Too… I think? | When My Brain Farts

  4. I think, in the case of wanting to know how a person really feels about a change that needs to happen, the use of Veritaserum would have to be followed up by an Imperio. Sometimes, we just see the truths other people are blind to, and if we try to make them see it, we only end up breaking our own hearts.

    Having said that, truth serum conferences should be mandatory when running for government office. At least maybe then we’ll find someone who really does have our best interest at heart.
    – Jill @ kyaruandbunnies.wordpress.com

    Like

    • The Imperius curse? Oh, gosh, no! Even with consent, a Veritaserum is bad enough, having full control of someone’s mind and actions is even worse. But you are also right, every one who runs for the office should take the Veritaserum prior to submitting their form of candidacy, to avoid jerks whose sole intention is to gain power and steal funds.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Truth About Truth Serum | When My Brain Farts

  6. I can’t imagine giving the truth serum to myself! I’m confident in how I think and feel, no matter how ugly that can be. I wonder if I used it on myself if I’d see myself as others see me, so in a more objective way?!

    Like

    • Exactly. There are parts inside of us that 1. Only WE know; 2; Only others know about us; and 3. no one knows, not even ourselves (ie; Johari Window Theory), so even if we keep telling ourselves that we don’t need it, we may still surprised everyone (including ourselves) if we take it. Imagine giving it to someone you love. The answers will definitely be shocking!

      Like

  7. “They say that the truth sets you free. The thing is, it doesn’t. It locks you up even more. The worse part is it never prepares you for the emotional roller coaster ride you’re about to go after. And it sucks… especially when you were hoping to hear a different answer.”

    If this is a Truth – then you are or were in no way prepared to hear – and really understand and accept – it. Truth does set you free – but you have to be ready for it -with no expectations in anticipation.

    Sometimes emotional wounds will run a jagged ravine through you and your life – but it is possible to overcome issues – it takes time, patience, unconditional and accepting love – for one self – a gift many struggle with before finally being able to let go.

    Still, an interesting way to answer the prompt.

    Like

    • If this is a Truth – then you are or were in no way prepared to hear – and really understand and accept – it. Truth does set you free – but you have to be ready for it -with no expectations in anticipation.

      Uh, I think that’s exactly what I said in an earlier paragraph – “Such questions that I would want to answer, but that I’m afraid I’m not ready for.”

      But you’re also right; it takes time. Everything does.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Truth Serum | RobertMcQ

  9. Press on:) The truth does help sometimes. My mom told me things she had never told me before she passed away, about my dad. It cleared up some misconceptions. It was like a monkey off my back.
    I can’t change him. I can only change me. I really understood what you wrote. When I finally opened up to him he hung up on me. So I get it.

    Like

    • I totally get what you’re saying. It’s refreshing to get the truths out, but when you got something you least expected, it was like getting sucked into a black hole with no way out.

      Like

  10. Pingback: I’m proud | It's Mayur Remember?

    • In such cases, yes, but not always. Sometimes we need it like ripping a band-aid. But there are times that we should keep things hidden for everyone’s sake because if we all take a truth serum, then we will have world war 200!

      Like

Thoughts?