It’s All About The Tumblers (No, not the social networking site)

17th november, 2014. 4:15pm

Today, the Daily Prompt’s Golden Key asks:

You’ve been given a key that can open one building, room, locker, or box to which you don’t normally have access. How do you use it, and why?

Lock and key gif

Photo c/o: tumblr.com

I was on my computer,
working on the story I wanted to write so bad,
when I felt a tap on my shoulder.
It was a man,
wearing a crooked grin,
inviting me to come with him.
He said he could show me the world.
He said he could show me the truth.
He said with his help, I could finally escape.

I reply with an innocent smile,
not saying anything.
I get up, left my unsaved post,
followed him to I-don’t-know-where.
He ushered me in, passing through a red velvet curtain
Inside was the most majestic, round number of doors.
He held out a key, told me to go wherever I want.
I asked where?
He said, “You know where. You just have to dig deep,”

So dig I did.

I looked around.
There were probably twenty doors.
Twenty colorful and monochromatic doors that could lead me anywhere.
I faced an entryway filled with bricks,
I wondered, “Diagon Alley?”
I turned around, saw a green curtain and I muttered,
“The Emerald City, right?”
Beside it was a simple looking-glass.
I looked at my reflection.
“Probably Wonderland”, I thought.
The girl staring back at me was saying something,
only I can’t understand what she wants to say.

I spin around one more time,
examining each doors closely.
I stopped at this simple red door.
Unlike the other doors, this one doesn’t seem to ooze with magic and wonder.
I opened my palm and stared at the key.
With trembling hand, I inserted the key into the lock.

I looked around the empty room.
No, wait.
It’s not empty.
In the middle was a girl sitting,
head bowed down,
pen and paper in hand.
I tapped the girl on her right shoulder,
and found a similar smile I wore before the mystery man appeared.
I sighed in relief.
All this time.
I didn’t realize ’til now.
I’m exactly where I want to be.

KTHXBYE.

 

Jhack

7 thoughts on “It’s All About The Tumblers (No, not the social networking site)

  1. Pingback: Blogging U |DAY 13 : INCREASE YOUR COMMENTING CONFIDENCE | Untrapped Words

  2. Pingback: DAY 11 : INCREASE YOUR COMMENTING CONFIDENCE | Untrapped Words

  3. I don’t know why but the first thing that I thought of while reading your work was ‘ Alice in Wonderland. ‘ Lovely poem you wrote there. I am really looking forward to the day when I create something amazing as that !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Unlocking Spirit | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

Thoughts?