What’s in a Song: Bon Appétit by Katy Perry

29th May, 2017. 4:30pm

bon appetit katy perry cherry pie

Look, I love Katy Perry and I don’t have a problem with changing things up. However, her latest single “Bon Appétit” is just downright horrible. I was uncomfortable watching the video, especially after associating pies with Waitress. I felt disrespected.

Now, before any of you blast me, let me get this straight: I love Katy Perry and I will forever be a KatyCat, but that doesn’t mean I have to love her entire being. For the past couple of weeks, Katy has been annoying me with these latest singles: Chain to the Rhythm, Bon Appétit, and Swish Swish. Don’t get me wrong, they are legit party jams and I’m pretty sure we will see them in the Billboard charts. But does it deserve all the hype it’s getting? Honestly, I don’t think so.

I’ll share my two cents about Chain to the Rhythm and Swish Swish, but I don’t want to waste any more of my time on those two so let’s just focus on Bon Appétit, shall we?

Appetite for Seduction

Before the single was released, Katy went on a Twitter bonanza and asked everyone to bake her a cherry pie. As a Waitress and Sara Bareilles fan, I find this trying too hard and seeking too much attention. I know, I should stop comparing Sara and Katy, but after listening to Bon Appétit, I just can’t help but compare them… again.

Sara Bareilles The Blessed Unrest Quotes Radio Hit Integrity ArtI gotta admit, I have listened to this song a couple of times already, and I’ll probably keep listening to it ’til it gets on my nerve. Even though the video is highly offensive and I find the song dumb, it’s also got a sick beat. It’s danceable and it will get you hooked, no matter how annoying you find the song. But reading into the lyrics also remind of when Sara Bareilles was recording her third studio album, The Blessed Unrest. In the video, Sara said, “I don’t need a radio hit so bad that I am willing to do anything for it… at the end of the day, the integrity of my art is WAY more important to me.” Now, what does this phrase have anything to do with Katy Perry’s Bon Appetit?

If you listen closely and look into the lyrics, the song goes:

‘Cause I’m all that you want, boy
All that you can have, boy
Got me spread like a buffet
Bon a, bon appétit, baby
Appetite for seduction
Fresh out the oven
Melt in your mouth kind of lovin’
Bon a, bon appétit, baby

You may wonder, WHAT THE HELL DOES THIS MEAN?

I know, right? What the fuck does the song mean? In case you missed all the sexual references, Bon Appétit is all about her asking you to have sex with her, because she knows you want to anyway. No, don’t tell me I’m reading too much into this and this is actually creative. IT’S EXACTLY WHAT THE SONG IS ABOUT. How can I tell? Take a look at second verse:

So you want some more
Well, I’m open 24
Wanna keep you satisfied
Customer’s always right
Hope you’ve got some room
For the world’s best cherry pie
Gonna hit that sweet tooth, boy

Open 24. Keep you satisfied. World’s best cherry pie. Get it?

I mean, I love you Katy Perry, but I really don’t need to know anything about your vagina or how good you are in bed, even through song. And this is exactly what I’m talking about what Sara B was referring to that I hope Katy relearns soon: YOU DON’T HAVE TO SEXUALIZE YOURSELF UP FOR A HIT RECORD. I know she can sing, I’ve seen her live in concert. Katy Perry does not need this trash to have another hit, so it’s sad she has to settle into this trash she call a song.

Fresh out of the oven

If you think the song alone is bad, just wait ’til you see the music video. Now, this is where the video starts to irritate me the most: it’s simply offensive. Simply put, the video revolves around Katy Perry being cooked and served as a meal. It’s weird and highly creative, but creepy as fuck and, to be honest, worrisome. Why? Here’s my personal take on it:

In the video, the old Katy is being chopped, prepped, cooked, and served as a new Katy Perry. What’s wrong with that, right? It’s just a mere reflection signifying Katy’s new beat.  Sure but, like, I still don’t get the need to shed off the old Katy for this new, sexualized Katy Perry. It’s like she switched bodies with Miley Cyrus this year! No, seriously. Have you heard Miley’s new single, Malibu? It’s like whoever possessed Miley finally had its fill and is now taking up residence in Katy Perry’s body. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t believe in that Illuminati shit, but that doesn’t mean I’m a fan of the 2017 version of Katy Perry.

And while we’re on the Illuminati side of things, shall we take a look at the album cover for Witness?

katy-perry-witness

Photo c/o: PopCrush.com

Yeah, If you’re into all that, the album, in short, shows the “all seeing eye.” I’m pretty sure all Illuminati watchers are feasting on Katy’s new song and album by now, dissecting the video and the song more than necessary. In a recent interview with ET Online about her latest album “Witness”, Katy said that the album art concept was about her “consciousness comes from my voice, and that’s how I see, and that’s how I witness you and that’s how you witness me and that’s why the eye is in the mouth.” I mean, okay Katy, but I still think it’s uninspired and trying too hard.

The thing is, I am a big Katy Perry fan and I will listen to her songs even though I think it’s shitty and dumb. However, a bigger part of me hopes to some day hear a true artistic record from the woman who wrote Firework, Wide Awake, Thinking of You, Unconditionally, The One That Got Away, and yes, even Roar (even though Katy basically ripped it off Sara’s song, Brave).

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Song: Bon Appétit by Katy Perry

    • Same! I’m really hating Katy this year. The songs sounded good, but that’s all there is to it: a good beat that will make you dance, if you can forget about the lyrics, that is.

      Like

Thoughts?

