Review (sort of): TV Land’s Younger (seasons 1-3)

27th February 2017. 2:39pm

HEADS UP: SPOILERS AHEAD. PROCEED AT YOUR RISK (if you haven’t caught up until season 3 or are just planning to watch “Younger”)
younger-season-1-poster-tv-show

Photo c/o: toptvshows.me

“Age doesn’t matter.” That’s what they say, but we all know that, in the corporate world, this is so not true. Companies always prefer the younger, fresh out of college students over, say, 30-40 somethings who already has a bullshit detector up their sleeves. Sometimes, even when you’re (more than) capable of handling the job you were applying for, the company still won’t accept you, let alone give you a chance at an interview because “you didn’t pass the age limit.” Well, what if you were given a second chance to be in your 20s again so you could get the job that you wanted, would you take it? How far will you go to get it? Will you consider lying about your age just to get hired? For Liza Miller of TV Land’s Younger, this seems to be the only solution. Something that, I’m pretty sure, all of us can relate to.

Played by multi-talented Tony winner Sutton Foster (Bunheads anyone? No? How about Thoroughly Modern Millie, or Shrek the Musical? Violet? The 2011 Broadway revival of Anything Goes, where she won the Tony, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle for Best Leading Actress in a Musical? Really, still nothing?! What is wrong with you people???), Liza Miller is a 40 year old woman who is recently divorced by her husband, moved into her best friend’s apartment when, one night at a pub, a hot tattoo artist mistook her for being a 26-year-old woman. Desperate to get back in the publishing world, and with encouragement from her best friend, Liza pretended to be 26 so she can fend for herself, and her teenage daughter who goes to school in India. Despite graduating from an Ivy League school (Dartmouth) and her skills, Liza never got hired as a 40-year-old woman in the industry she once rocked in until she decided to change her age. She was eventually hired as an Assistant for Diana Trout (Miriam Shor) at Empirical Press. That’s when shit got real.

I can tell you what happens from seasons 1-3 but that would take us forever (seriously, just go watch it). However, I’m going to ask you one thing that also served as one of the show’s main conflict: if you were at the receiving end and you found out that someone you’ve grown to care about lied about their age, will you get mad at them? If you were the boss and you found out that one of your best employees lied about their age or their identity, will you fire them even though they’re actually a real asset to your company? Before you answer that question, let me summarize the show’s main theme/lesson/words of wisdom/whatever you want to call it: EVERYONE LIES. Don’t act like you haven’t. We all have. We just lie on different things for different reasons. I certainly have. I have actually been on Liza’s shoes once.

The first time I got my current client was when I was still working for my old employer in 2010. When I got the client, my former employer asked me to give a pseudonym to “protect our identities online.” I worked for my client for 7 months until he offered me to work directly for him. I said yes, but spared him the most important detail he needs to know about me: my real name.

For years, my client thought I was someone else and I didn’t really ever bothered coming out because I thought it wouldn’t matter anyway since I’m an exemplary employee. That is until early this year. Yup, it took me 7 years to tell him and our staff in Miami the truth about me. Fortunately, they didn’t take it against me. They were even saying how bad they felt for calling me by the wrong name all these years. For years, I thought I’d be in trouble for not telling them what my real name is, but luckily they decided to look past that small detail because I was an asset to the company. They even invited me to come visit the office if and when I get to the United States.

On the other hand, I don’t know if I could say the same for Liza Miller. Although, if you ask me, Empirical Press shouldn’t make a big deal out of Liza lying about her age (when they find out about it) because she has proven her worth since she got employed. Of course, it’s so fucked up that she lied, and maybe I’m defending her lie because I’ve been there, but really, why should that even matter if you’ve got the skills to do and excel at your job?

Season 3 finale ends with Liza finally telling Kelsey (played by Hilary Duff) the truth. I’m pretty sure that Kelsey won’t take it lightly, but I do hope that she can see past Liza’s secrets. After all, the two of them have been through a lot for her to throw their friendship just like that. Because as messed up as Liza is, what she did wasn’t just so she could feel young. She’s doing everything she can for her daughter. That, I think, is admirable. Messy, but admirable.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

