Writer’s Block: Why I (Still) Write

16th June, 2016. 2:25am

writer's block gif

Photo c/o: theodysseyonline.com

I don’t believe in writer’s block. I always say that when you can’t write, you’re simply uninspired. Now I’m not so sure. Still, I keep writing… Whenever I can, that is.

I’ve been MIA on this blog for a very long time, I know that. And I want to go back to blogging, I really do, but I don’t want to go back just “for the sake of.” I’m blanking out a lot these days; I don’t know what to write anymore. There would be times when I would write a draft on the notes app of my phone but after a while I would stop writing for whatever reason, so I would just close the app and forget about it. I have a lot of unpublished and unfinished poems, blog entries, and short stories, but I just couldn’t find the strength to finish and publish them.

I always say that it’s because I’m swamped with work, and although it’s true, I’m also just feeling too lazy to get up early and update my blog. I’m even having a bad reading year, having only read a handful since the year started, and I set about 40 books for the year, which will be a big embarrassment if I didn’t make it to even half of it since I surpassed last year’s reading challenge. It’s like being put under a sleeping curse and no one is there to wake me up but myself but I love the state of death-like sleep too much to make myself to get my ass up.

However, despite my lack of inspiration these past few months, I’m still not ready to give up. I know someday I will wake from my slumber, I just hope I could find my words again.

And that’s the main reason why I write and still write; there’s so much more to say. I don’t know what that is, or if I could even find the right words to say, but I have faith. I will get there. I will get back on my horse and ride again. I don’t when, but I believe I will. I shall.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

