Book Review: Me Before You (by Jojo Moyes)

28th April, 2016. 3:50pm

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (When My Brain Farts)

Photo c/o: oohlalexi.com

HEADS UP: The following contains spoilers about the book “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes. If you haven’t read the book and is planning to and doesn’t want to know what happened in the end, please stop now. But if you don’t mind reading about someone else’s perspective about this masterpiece before you get your hands on it, then, by all means, proceed.

I wish I had finished this sooner rather than later, because it is bloody brilliant. What with the way Clark and Will fell for each other and how things ended, it’s almost embarrassing that I only read this now and not right after I purchased the book.

As I was reading Me Before You, it made me think about my own experiences. What if someone I know had an incurable disease and wants to end his or her life. Will I allow it? Will I stop them from taking their own life before their own time? I know it’s morally wrong, because who are we to decide when we will die, but at the end of the day, the author was right; it was not ours to decide, but the person themselves.

Personally, I admire what Clark did to change Will’s mind. Her determination, her courage, her dedication, is astounding. However, sometimes, even the love of the people are not enough to change our mind and, most especially, our hearts. It’s wrong to assist someone as they take their last breath, but will you force them to live if they can no longer find the reason to? It’s true there’s always a way, there’s gotta be, but we also have to remind ourselves that reasons and ways don’t matter if the person are too blind to see it.

To be honest, I was hoping Clark to succeed; change his mind and try to live happily together. I guess I was wrong, because it still happened. And it sucks. I found myself crying when Clark cried. I got mad when Will angered her. But I also laughed when they said something funny. I fell in love when they did with each other. And by the last phrase in the book, I felt hopeful. It’s not the ending I would have wanted, but it’s an ending I have to accept; it’s also a beginning of some sort.

Me-Before-You-Quote

Photo c/o: quotesgram.com

So to answer my question earlier about whether I would allow it if someone I love decides to end things permanently because they couldn’t see a future anymore, the answer is PERHAPS. I know my answer would probably change if and when I actually get there, but a part of me is saying yes. Why? Because sometimes some people are not supposed to stay in your life. Sometimes they just pass through it to teach you a thing or two; push you in the right direction. Oftentimes these people are the ones that leave a mark in your heart, no matter how short they were with you.

Plus, if it was me being put in the situation, I would have wanted my loved ones to accept and respect my decision and just let me go in peace, even if it seemed wrong.

Below is the trailer for the movie adaptation starring Emilia Clark (Game of Thrones), Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games movies), Matthew Lewis (Harry Potter series), and more. Me Before You comes out in theaters June 3.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “Book Review: Me Before You (by Jojo Moyes)

  1. Pingback: Movie Review: Me Before You | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

