Invisible

17th December, 2015. 5:15pm

Writing 101, Poetry – Day 9: Camouflage

For today’s poem, take inspiration from camouflage — you may apply it in any way you like, whether you write about visual or social dissimulation, or focus on the way we hide our myriad emotions, actions, and reactions. What would be your ultimate smokescreen, concealment, or mask?

family-yelling

Photo c/o: goodtherapy.org

When I hear the word camouflage, I always think about animals who can easily hide from their prey. I didn’t want to write something like that, so of course, like always I used it as a metaphor. I was late today because me and my cousins went shopping, so I have to work the night instead.

You laugh, I cry
You give up, I try
You live, I die
Every plans I had have gone awry.

I made a mistake
You didn’t double-take
Never caring about my sake
A thing worse than a heartbreak.

So when you cried, I laughed
When you tried, I gave up
When you died, I lived
And when you finally confide, your presence I denied.

About the concept:

Think about two people who are fed up with each other but had to live with each other. You ignore them for your own sanity and when you’ve finally realized there’s no chance in hell it will work and you gave up, the other party suddenly starts crawling back to you. Initially, I wanted to write it being one-sided, but where’s the fun in that? So I took it out on the other person, giving him a dose of his own medicine. Sucks, doesn’t it? So, moral lesson, do not do unto others what you don’t want others to do unto you.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

4 thoughts on “Invisible

Thoughts?

