Canvas

16th December, 2015. 11:40am

Writing 101, Poetry – Day 8: Graffiti

For today’s poem, reflect on what graffiti means to you. Tell the story of a particularly memorable wall. Quote a powerful example of graffiti you’d seen (and feel free to share an image, if you’d like). Or write the poem as if it were itself splashed, for all to see, against the largest wall in town.

I really thought that I would be having a hard time with today’s assignment but it was surprisingly easy to write about. I think I used a variety of poetic forms and device which names I can’t remember, but I’m pretty sure you can spot a few. And they’re right, it’s so easy to write a poem when you don’t have to think about the poetic form and/or device that you need to use. I guess, when you’re given a blank canvas, inspiration tends to fall easily. All you have to do is start writing (or, in our case, typing).

children graffiti wall

Photo c/o: wallpaperup.com

Pictures in my head
As I sat on my bed
Of endless wonders
With fierce-looking hunters.
Of flying creatures that never existed
Of words that have never been invented.
A pen in hand, I got up and stand
Working it like it’s some kind of wand
In a big white wall, my hands suddenly fall
A circle, a line, a square, a triangle, my hands suddenly scrawl.
I don’t care if it doesn’t make sense
Not even thinking about the consequence
In my hand I paint a picture so clear
Coloring my world by taking out this bland atmosphere.

About the concept:

At first, I thought I’d just go to Google, search for graffiti, and look for an image that will spark an inspiration. I could easily pick one, but the photo I included in this poem stood out to me the most, because aside from graffiti artists who are of age, I am most impressed with kids who are gutsy enough to paint a wall. I know, it’s a pain for parents to clean it up afterwards, but have you ever thought for a second what was in their head when they picked up that crayon and started writing on the wall? That’s exactly what was on my mind as I was writing my assignment for today. For kids, at least I would think, it doesn’t matter if it looks cute or not, they don’t care whether Mommy and Daddy will kill them when they’re caught. For those kids who draw on the wall and use it as their canvas, they’re simply bringing the pictures in their head to life.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

7 thoughts on “Canvas

Thoughts?

