Beloved

15th December, 2015. 4:15pm

Writing 101, Poetry – Day 7: Beloved

Today, write a poem celebrating your beloved. It does not have to be a specific person — you could address an imaginary beloved from the future who’s waiting for you. You could take on the persona of a well-known mythological or historic character and address her or his beloved in your poem. You could create a new type of lover and beloved.

Forest-Stories-1024x680

Photo c/o: invokemagazine.com

When I first read what today’s assignment is all about, it scared the heck out of me. I don’t want to write about something I have written many times before, because I know I can do better than that. I was supposed to write an ode about a particular person; I even thought of a perfect title for my poem, but I immediately scratched it when I started writing the first line. I guess maybe, in a way, this prompt is about writing an ode, since we were told to celebrate a beloved. Only, on my part, I think I did quite the opposite.

North and South
East and West,
Spinning ’round the globe
Like some kind of conquest.
From Neverland to Wonderland
Searching for you far and wide,
Yes, through all the realms, I will go through
‘Til I find you right here by my side.
Spring or fall
Winter or Summer,
Combing the forest
‘Til I find the answer.
From Earth to Pluto
To sun or moon,
I will find you
Even if I have to use a rune.

About the concept:

Like I said, this poem is about the lack of (beloved). At first, I wanted to write something positive, something to celebrate love, but how can you celebrate something if you’re not feeling it? So I went for the other way. In a way, I still want my poem to sound hopeful, that no matter how long it takes, she will keep searching and waiting ’til that right person arrives. It’s no easy task, and there will definitely be a lot of bumpy roads or seas coming her way, but she’s not giving up.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

5 thoughts on “Beloved

Thoughts?

