Queen of Hearts

14th December, 2015. 4:00pm

Writing 101, Poetry – Day 6: Fallacy

Today, let’s write poems that are wholly illogical.

I thought long and hard on what to write for today’s assignment. It’s not because I don’t understand the prompt, but I think I’m just not in the mood to write today; my mind is like Pentium 1 today! I kept thinking about the prompt for hours and nothing of value comes to mind, except the Evil Queen from Once Upon a Time. When I think of her and what she did the first season, it was entirely selfish and evil. She was ruthless, she was careless, and she never cared about collateral damage. She will do what she wants, and will stop at nothing to get it.

And I ripped his heart to do my bidding
Squeezing it a little ’til he starts following.
Sending him on a quest without asking,
A knife on my enemy’s chest? A thing I’d be delighted in seeing.

evil queen rips graham's heart

Photo c/o: giphy.com

So what if it’s not the right path?
I’d still send him on a bloodbath.
I don’t care if I give in to my wrath,
Even if it means having to deal with the aftermath.

He will do as I say, for I hold his only lifeline.
And no, he can’t resign, or my hands he will find in his neckline.
I’d make him cross that borderline
Coz’ since when do I care about anyone else’s happiness but mine?

About the concept:

Even though the inspiration for my assignment was the Evil Queen, a part of me wrote it for the brats and trolls out there. You see, brats and trolls don’t care who gets hurt as long as they got what they wanted. They bask in someone else’s suffering. They’re the worse kinds of bullies.

As for the title, I chose to use the Evil Queen’s mother instead of her, because for me, she’s the  biggest bully of them all. She’s literally the queen of hearts, known for ripping out hearts and when you think about it, her daughter wouldn’t turn out so horrible if it wasn’t for her.

I don’t know if I got the prompt right, but I liked it so whatever. Deal with that.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

