Circadian

10th December, 2015. 3:05pm

Writing 101, Poetry – Day 4: Seconds

Unimportant as it may seem, a split second can change our lives in ways we can never imagine. So today, write about the basic unit of time, seconds.

First of all, yay to rosemawrites because they used your prompt. Proud Kababayan here!

couple clock gif

Photo c/o: elephantinthephoto.tumblr.com

In today’s prompt, it said to “reflect on those few seconds when a loved one was in a life-and-death situation. Relive the few seconds when you held your eldest child for the first time. Recount those seconds when you were waiting for big news that was about to change your life.” I kept thinking about past experiences that I can use for today’s assignment, but the more I think about it, the more my poetic genes in me screams I should go the alternate route. So I did.

Tick tock, it is a clock.
Tick tock, hurry up, you’re getting old, little duck.
Hurry up or they will wither, your flock.
Find an ally, go get up, don’t cry.
Someday, you will marry a guy.

Tick tock, it’s definitely a clock.
Tick tock, but fret not, don’t focus too much on the clock.
You don’t have to run and run
for you’ll miss the fun,
but do not ignore that little circadian.

Tick tock, they say it’s a clock.
Tick tock, keep walking, ’til you find that jock.
Don’t listen to that jabberjay
‘coz all they do is just betray.
Keep fighting, you’ll be a Victor someday.

About the concept:

Here’s the thing: the finished product wasn’t really the first paragraph; there was another (which I will share below, once I’m done blabbering here). I knew where I want my poem to go, and even though I liked the first few paragraphs, I knew it doesn’t suit well with the theme. So I took them out, also because I think the poem is getting longer **oh, and trust me, this is a poem I think I could go on and on forever. Anyway, because the prompt is all about seconds, I decided I would go not for the literal seconds or time, but the one that “measures aging throughout the body based on DNA methylation levels”, also known as our Biological Clock. I’m not getting younger, I’ll admit that, and it’s so annoying how people keep telling me I should hurry up and find someone already because “clock is ticking.” I used a line in Catching Fire “tick tock, it’s a clock” because I like it and I think it’s perfect for this prompt. I also incorporated a poetic form called “Limerick“, one that I’ve learned from the past Poetry Workshops here at WordPress. **oh, please, tell me I used it correctly?

Anyway, as promised, here is the first three paragraphs that were originally part of my assignment for today:

Tick tock, they say it’s a clock.
Tick tock, hurry up before they run amok.
Kill or be killed,
fight, hide, go look for some shield,
It’s your choice, stay or run away from the field.

Tick tock, they say it’s a clock.
Tick tock, hurry up or you will get stuck.
Kill them with kindness
Or fight with fierceness,
Whatever you decide, fight away your weakness.

Tick tock, it’s a clock.
Tick tock, hurry up or they will wither, your flock.
The only way to be a Victor
Is to consider that tiny factor
That it’s okay to disobey the director.

KTHXBYE.

 

Jhack

9 thoughts on “Circadian

Thoughts?

