Book Review: Gone Girl (by Gillian Flynn)

02nd November, 2015. (Written: 4:50am)


When I first saw the film adaptation of Gone Girl, I was so mad and confused as to how Nick could have stayed with his wife after everything she’s done. Now, eight days after finishing reading the book, I finally understood. They deserved each other.

But first, let me just say: Nick Dunne is a fucking asshole. How can I say that? Hmm, let me see: He doesn’t know a lot of things about his wife. Not her Blood Type, not a single thing about what she does at home, and is definitely clueless as to who she befriends in the neighborhood. AND he fucked his student. So, yeah, he is an asshole.

We know the first part of Amy’s pseudo Diary were all true, and I know that at the beginning of Part 2, Amy said she will tell which ones are true and which ones are made up but it makes me wonder, when did the lying start? When they both lose their jobs? When they moved to Missouri? They (Amy’s diary entries) may be made-up, but something in me tells me it won’t be written if it wasn’t based on their already fucked up situation.

To be honest, reading Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl kinda makes me not wanna get married. They’re both batshit crazy! Amy is clearly a psychopath and a sociopath and a pathological liar, and Nick is a cheating asshole with borderline personality disorder who is also a pathological liar like his wife. Nick and Amy do deserve each other. The ending was right, they should stay together. But what will their child become? Well. Let’s just hope that the baby won’t inherit it’s parent’s crazy gene.

Actually, I take back what I just said. Before I get married—if I will ever get married—I think I’m gonna make my fiance read and/or watch Gone Girl, so that both of us could talk about it and understand what we’re getting ourselves into. It’s crazy, I know, but I’d rather be crazy now than pull an Amy Elliott-Dunne later, right?

Last week, when we attend mass, the priest shared a story during the Homily about a married couple who went to him to seek advice because they want to get a divorce. Turns out, the husband cheated on his wife. It was the first and only time he cheated but the wife couldn’t get to forgive and forget what he did. Then the priest asked the wife, “How many good deeds has your husband done to you? How does that one incident trump every good thing that he has done?” The wife went silent. Now, this doesn’t mean that the priest is tolerating the man cheating on his wife. What he wants to tell everyone is that we shouldn’t be blinded by hate and anger when someone (a loved one, specifically) wronged us. We have to be fair and see the good things they did. That being said, it made me think, what if the couple is Amy and Nick? Amy may have gone way too far in “teaching her husband a lesson” but Nick isn’t exactly innocent, either. What if they told the priest that Nick stopped loving his wife after he met his mistress? That he, and I quote from page 344 on the book, “was practically falling in love with her again” only after Amy left, faked her death and framed her husband. Nick even said something like it in the movie; “Part of me was relieved, knowing that she was gone.” Can the priest still advice the same thing? Think about it.

gone girl quoteAnd the part where Amy tells about the night she saw Nick and Andie? I think that was real, and that sets her off. When someone who’s as crazy and territorial as Amy found out that her husband is cheating on her, it will definitely unleash the psycho in her. Ask anyone who has been cheated on before. I’m sure they understood how Amy felt at that moment.

Now, who’s to blame for Amy and Nick being who they are? For someone who’s life has been fucked by her parents, I’d say it’s their parents. Amy’s parents couldn’t accept the fact that Amy is  and never will be “Amazing Amy” and as psychologists, they have done a poor, poor job in not noticing that they raised a psychopath and a pathological liar. As for Nick, his fear of turning into his father became a hindrance for him being less of an asshole. He was trying so damn hard not to be like his father that he didn’t realize that he was turning into him. I know they could’ve chosen to not be like their parents, but sometimes, when your own parents bully you, a part of you will get messed up, enough to turn you to go haywire.

I love this book, really I do. One of my favorites this year even, but it’s things like this that gives me a headache. It was brilliantly written, but I think hearing both Amy and Nick’s side of the story fogs my brain that it hurts to even think what is true and what is false. And I know Amy is a murderous psycho bitch, but a part of me also thinks that she wouldn’t have framed her husband and almost sent him to death row if Nick only kept his dick in his pants.

Just my two-cents worth.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “Book Review: Gone Girl (by Gillian Flynn)

  1. Pingback: “Psycho” mode | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

