Fatal Attraction

16th October, 2015. 5:37pm

Writing 201: Poetry, Day 10: Pleasure, Sonnet, Apostrophe

From the tantalizing to the satisfyingly sober, have your poems convey a sense of pleasure today. (Or, if you wish to keep it dark anyway, write about the lack of or longing for that sort of feeling.)
Today’s form: sonnet
Today’s device: apostrophe

female stalker

Photo c/o: shutterstock.com

I can’t believe this is our last day already!

Okay, I’m exaggerating. I know it’s our last day because I’ve taken this poetry course before. Still, ohmygod! I don’t want this to end just yet! **This one’s a genuine thought, alright?

I don’t really have a problem with today’s prompt, form and device, because I can and will do this everyday than do either Concrete or Found Poetry in one day. I chose to write a poem about the pleasure of taking someone out, rather than the real pleasure that is light and fluffy. Why? Because where’s the fun in writing something like that?

You can call me weird or crazy or whatever, but I don’t care. To be honest, this piece was actually inspired by Gillian Flynn’s novel, Sharp Object, which I finished last night. So, if you’re going to blame someone for my sick, twisted poem, blame it on her. Not mine. 🙂

Anyway, here you go!

I hide as I check them out
into the wood bench, where my man and his girlfriend lay.
I watched him and her all throughout,
Face pressed, devouring each other, enjoying the foreplay.
I looked as he slid his hands inside her shirt,
wondering if he was thinking of me as he touches her body.
I know I can do better than that flirt,
Does she really think she owns my baby?

I waited ’til he left her to her lonesome,
dark thoughts running, I know I gotta teach her a lesson.
Should I stab her, strangle her, slit her throat, or use some other form of sadism?
And when I’m done, I’m just gonna throw her into the ocean.
He’s mine, don’t you see?
And taking her out? Yes, indeed, it makes me VERY happy.

About the concept:

You know how, when your boyfriend, girlfriend, husband or wife cheats on you, you wanted to kill that other guy or girl? I mean, of course you can’t because it’s against the law, but what if you can, sans all the repercussions? Don’t you just want to take him or her out, let him or her know that s/he’s yours and yours alone? You see, I love tales about people with twisted minds. I love Rosamund Pike in The Devil You Know, Gone Girl and Return to Sender because she plays lady-killer so well. And this tale, she’s exactly the kind of woman in mind.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

4 thoughts on “Fatal Attraction

Thoughts?

