Brave

12th October, 2015. 5:45pm

Writing 201: Poetry, Day 6: Faces, Found Poetry, Chiasmus

In today’s poem, take a single face or a multitude of them as your point of departure.
Today’s form: found poetry
Today’s device: chiasmus

Oh, no! Here we go with Found Poetry again! I had a hard time with this form the first time I had to do it when I took the first Poetry writing workshop here at WordPress, so I wasn’t thrilled to be doing it again today. I’m fine with Chiasmus, it’s Found Poetry I’m adamant about. Not that I don’t know how to do it, I just don’t have all day to go looking for words from books for my work today. I actually started, and found really good lines and words, but then I realized how long it took me to find a single word, let alone an entire line. So I stopped and worked from it instead. Color me quitter. I don’t care.

But despite my lack of effort about achieving Found Poetry, I’d like to share another form that I did last weekend. I was supposed to publish it as part of the Weekend Poetry Potluck, but I failed, so I’m sharing it today instead. It’s called the Book Spine Poetry, which is an ongoing thing with book nerds nowadays. Book Spine Poetry is where you create a poetry out of book spines. Hey, maybe this could be part of Writing 201: Poetry in the future! Who knows?

Anyway, without further ado, here’s my poem for the day:

girl staring in the mirror

Photo c/o: genius.com

She stares at her reflection in the mirror as it stares back at its reflection,
Wondering how can a girl with a face like that be in such collision.
A tear fell on her eyes, frown on her lips
But the face looking at her didn’t even flinch.
Relax, it communicated, you’re gonna be just fine.
Put a brave face, you don’t have to resign
You gotta be strong, because you’re stronger than you know.

About the concept:

For today’s prompt, I decided to take “face” in a metaphorical form. How, when we are going through a rough road, there’s a voice—or in this case, a face—inside us that tells us to get our shit together and put a brave face on. I wrote it because I’m going through the same thing. I was on Twitter last night, live-tweeting my favorite show and I asked something to the episode writer where the episode writer replied to my tweet and all of a sudden, mayhem. Tweeps were berating me left and right. I even had a pointless conversation with someone as I tried to explain my point. And then, this morning, when I checked my Twitter account, I realized, they can’t put me down. I’ve been thrown a lot of things before. This is nothing. So I did what I wrote. I put a brave face on and faced them bravely (**Oy, that’s another Chiasmus! How about that?), because really, they’re just a bunch of strangers trying to put me down and I won’t let them.

PS: Here’s my own take on book spine poetry, just as I promised:

Book Spine Poetry - Dear Killer by Jhack Telan

Dear Killer,
If I Should Die
in 99 Days
and you’re taking me to
The Darkest Part of the Forest
to die,
Don’t Look Back.
but too
Bad For You,
Bad Girls Don’t Die.😏

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

11 thoughts on “Brave

  1. Aww this is such an incredible blog post! I loved reading this so much. I have had time to check out your blog and it’s awesome so keep it up! (:

    Like

  2. I know exactly how you feel about the found poetry! Too time consuming. I did try to lay out my words on that format, still took a while. I like the message of your poem. And the book spine poem was great!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

