Dirty Laundry.

29th September, 2015. 4:30pm

Writing 101, Day 17: Mine your own material

Can you dig through your online treasures and build upon old stories and existing writing? Here are more ideas:

  • Take a peek in the drafts section of your dashboard. Can you use unpublished copy in a new way?
  • Scroll through your Facebook wall and see if any posts catch your eye. Do you feel the same as when you first posted something? Can you comment on how you’ve evolved?
  • Look at the stream of tweets you’ve favorited over time. Why did you favorite a particular tweet? What does your list of favorites say about you?
  • If you use the Tag Cloud Widget, scan the terms in your tag cloud. Can you write prose or poetry that uses most of these words?

If you have trouble finding ideas this way, think about the things we leave behind. Tell us about a time you’ve left an object, place, person, or even an idea behind — and had to move on.

I signed on Facebook in 2008 but I didn’t get active until about a year or two later. There are a couple of things I would have wanted to share and talk about but I decided to simply share this one instead.

I posted this on my Facebook account last May 28 because some people thought I don’t have much social life because I rarely go on Facebook. So to answer that question above whether I still feel the same when I posted that, the answer is YES. I mean, I’m sorry but I just don’t see the point of “checking in” to every place you drop by. Unlike other people, I prefer enjoying what’s going on at that time without having to think about letting the world know about it.

When I was younger, I used to do it all the time, too; post anything and everything that’s on my mind. Whether it be good or bad, I’ve used the internet as an outlet to let it all out. I was (well, am) a very shy girl, and the World Wide Web was the perfect way for me to let out the inner extrovert in me, even if I am the complete opposite “in real life.” But over the years, I realized how awful it was to air your dirty laundry for all the world to see. It’s icky and it makes me look like a whiny, bratty girl. So I stopped. Now, I only update my status for important reasons.

I’m not saying you should stop letting the people know what you’re up to, but don’t judge someone else just because they’re not like you.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “Dirty Laundry.

Thoughts?

