Playing Catch Up

18th September, 2015. 2:20pm

Writing 101, Day 10: Update your readers over a cup of coffee

So today, write an update post in the form of a virtual coffee date.
If this post isn’t fitting for your blog, or just not your style, here’s your alternative: use a coffee shop as your inspiration.

  • Set your poem or short story in a cafe.
  • Go to your neighborhood spot with your laptop or notebook and free-write for 20 minutes, prompted by what you observe.
  • Love or hate coffee? Tell us why
Starbucks 6750

Our view from up here at Starbucks 6750

Puts coffee and cheesecake on the table. Sits down. Sips coffee.

How am I? Well, let’s see. It depends on what you want to know exactly.

I mean, how do I even begin? My day didn’t start so well. I went to bed last night before midnight after donning two slices of pizza, in the hopes of waking up early so I can work as soon as I woke up. And boy, did I wake up early… at 3 IN THE MORNING!

I was so pissed when I couldn’t go back to sleep, so I just finished the book I’m reading (Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford—great, quick read. Funny, actually, because I felt like I wrote the story myself. What with all the main character’s inner monologue and all) around 4 after turning in my bed and failing to go back to sleep. I did finish the book, and was so convinced I could go back to dreamland about three hours later. WRONG AGAIN! I just keep freaking turning in my bed. I hate it when that happens.

It’s not even that all lights are on. You know I sleep in the dark, so it’s extra annoying when the darkness wasn’t enough for me to fall back to sleep. So, I played on my phone. I figured I’d just play Book Worm since I can’t sleep anymore to keep my brain working, since it’s almost time for me to “wake up.”

Again, wrong move! Because just when I was about to get up, I suddenly find my eyes shutting down and my body preparing for dreamland. I swear, ever since rehearsals started my sleeping habits got fucked up.

What rehearsals? Oh, that’s right. You didn’t know yet. I was asked to choreograph Sakura: the dance musical for the Dulaang Asilaw (that’s “Do-lah-ang Uh-see-lao” for you, my friend). I know, right? What the hell was I thinking, accepting the task. I haven’t even stepped foot on stage for, what, seven years, and here I go thinking I could do even one contemporary routine for the entire musical? Well, guess what, I’ve actually finished one already and is now on my second number! Actually, I’ve taught them three different numbers already, but the other two were folk dances, not contemporary.

So, anyway, yeah, surprisingly, I was enjoying doing the choreography despite my fear of failing. I know I can do it, I still feel so terrified going into it. I still don’t know what made them think I was the right person to do the job, because even if I have choreographed two plays for the group before, it’s been almost eleven years and my dancing abilities surely have diminished. What do you mean which plays? You know which ones! A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Bakas ng Kahapon, of course!

Oh, don’t worry. I’m superwoman, of course I still manage to get some sleep and do my job. I mean, despite having to work straight shift twice a week, I think I’m doing just fine. What’s annoying is my Dad. I know he’s just concern about my health, but come on! I’m almost 30 but he’s still reprimanding me because of my rehearsal schedules. It’s like I’m back in college!

How is he? Oh, you know. Still being a brat. Early this week, he told me he would go to the province because his uncle died so secretly I was rejoicing because I could have the entire home for myself for a few days but the week is almost over and he’s still here. I know, I’m bad for not even feeling a wee bit sad for a relative’s death, but what can I do? I didn’t know the guy.

Anyway, so yeah, Dad… I really don’t know what to do with him. We had an argument again last Wednesday because he was having a bad day so, of course, he took it out on me. I was doing the dishes when he shouted at me, saying I would burn when someone screams fire because I can’t hear anyone when my earphones are on. I mean, I’m sorry I didn’t hear him, but I really don’t have time for bullshit, especially when I just woke up. Right? Like, who would want to ruin their day just ’cause someone woke up on the wrong side of the bed? Crazy.

Wait, I’ll be right back. I gotta pee.
.
.
.
.
Stands in line for the rest room.
.
.
.
**What, no tissue? Gross.
.
.
.
Washes hands.
.
.
.
Goes back to the table.

Uh, did you not order anything? We’ve been talking here forever and I haven’t seen you take a sip of anything. What do you mean? Go ask them for your coffee. Shakes head.
.
.
.
Friend goes back in our table, order in hand.

What tweet? Oh. THAT. That was nothing.

What? I mean it. Ignore it. No, I’m not seeing someone right now. I just find it sweet when he tells me he misses me. I know he has a girlfriend, geez. What, am I not allowed to feel or assume that he actually misses me?

Look, I know what you’re thinking, but relax. We’re really just friends now, I promise. What, can’t a guy and a girl be really just friends? I’m not trying to tear him and his girlfriend apart, trust me. I don’t do that. I won’t, because I don’t want anyone to be doing that to me. But I won’t deny the fact that it makes me feel loved when he says he misses me both on text and in person. 🙂

Wait, so enough about me. How about you? How are YOU? I’ve been talking here for hours and you haven’t said a word about yourself. What’s up with you? Come on. Stop interviewing me and tell me everything before we read tarot cards.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

3 thoughts on “Playing Catch Up

Thoughts?

