Dear, Oh Dear…

17th September, 2015. 2:15pm

Writing 101, Day 9: Reinvent the letter format

Today, write your post as a letter. Approach it in any way you’d like, but if you’re not sure what to write, here are ideas:

  • A letter to a blogger/writer, responding to one of their posts/articles.
  • A humorous or satirical letter to a celebrity or public figure.
  • A piece of constructive criticism (or praise) to a politician, international or local.
  • A letter to a thing — a fear, a bad habit, an object, etc.
  • A note to yourself at a specific age/year in the past or future.
  • A letter to someone who cannot respond (a loved one who has passed, a fictional character).
  • A love letter to a place.

I’ve thought long and hard about this assignment because there are so many people, places and things I wanted to write a letter to if I can. I fell in love with writing because of writing letters, and I’ve been collecting letters and notes ever since I learned to read and write.

Like I said, the list I wanted to write a letter to is long, I think I’ll just write some quick notes to a few of them:

To my dear old iPod touch:
jhack iPod

Me and my iPod’s first official selfie – March 2010

I’m so sorry I keep dropping you these past few days. I’ve dropped you 3x today already, and the day isn’t even finished yet. No, I’m not doing it on purpose just so I can finally replace you with a new one. I actually have no intention of doing that anytime soon. We’ve been through so much since I had you five years ago; you’ve seen me both at my lowest and highest points and since then, I’ve never had any serious problems with you. I want you to know how much I treasure you. You’re the one thing that never leaves my side when I wanted to curse everyone in this land. You lighten my mood when I’m on my Evil Queen mode, and keep me high when I feel like I’m the lead star in a Step Up movie, even though I know my limitations as a dancer. Thank you so much for being so patient with me and my clumsy hands. I promise to take better care of you. Please don’t give up on me yet, okay? I wanted you to still be with me for the next five years.

Dear New York:
NYC-Andrew-Mace-29

Photo c/o: world-finance-conference.com

I know you have been waiting for me, I’m waiting for myself to get there, as well. I talked to my sister last week and she said I wouldn’t like it there because you’re so crowded and noisy. I don’t know about that, but I know that a bigger part of me can’t wait to finally meet you. Obviously, I don’t know when will that happen, or if it will even happen at all, but I’m not giving up. I will do whatever it takes for us to finally meet. Whether it’s a job, a vacation, or romance that will allow me to get there, I don’t know. All I know is that one day, someday, we will meet. Just hold tight, okay? I will get there and work for my favorite publishing company. Just you wait. 😉

Dear Red Room:

I feel like I owe you one ginormous apology for abandoning you these past few months. I’m so sorry that I haven’t taken great care of you. I know I promised I will transform you into a nice home office, which I miserably failed at, but I promise next week you and I will have some fun together! If I broke that promise you can cast me out and ban me from this room forever. You have my word, we will transform you into an awesome home office that everyone will envy.

Dear Lana Parrilla:
Lana Parrilla as Regina Mills Once Upon a Time

Photo c/o: hypable.com

I know you don’t know me, but I know you from Once Upon a Time and that’s enough for me. There’s no chance in hell that you would read this but I want you to know how much I adore you. You give so much life to Regina Mills and the Evil Queen, whom I can relate to the most. I think you’re the most underrated actress on the show, and you don’t deserve that. You should be receiving awards or at least nominations for a job very well done. By playing Regina, I realized that everyone can change, and that each of us is responsible for turning good or evil. Through you, I’ve learned that it’s okay to be swayed on the dark side, but you should always be responsible for the bad things you caused. Thank you for playing Regina Mills so well. You hold a special place in my fangirl heart.

Dear Philippine Presidentiables:

To whoever is running for the 2016 election, I hope that making the country a better place to live in is your best interest, and not just to be the most powerful man or woman in the country. I am not the most patriotic resident of this country, but am so tired of politicians who keep on giving empty promises. Please, stop lying to yourselves and our faces. We don’t need trap politicians. We need someone who actually cares for this country, not just for the power or money it comes with. I haven’t chosen my President yet, but I sure as hell isn’t going to vote for someone who lies in my face. You may have already cast your candidacy but please keep in mind that we are all looking at all of you with all our six senses open. **Yes, six, not just five.

Dear anyone who has committed suicide (or are thinking about doing it):

I’m so sorry you have to resort to that. I’m so sorry that you thought offing yourself is the only way to end your suffering. I’m so sorry that you think the world has been nothing but cruel to you. I know life isn’t a fairy tale, and I may never know why you did what you had to do, but please know that someone out there loves you. Despite the fact that a few people have succeeded to bring you down, don’t think for one second that nobody loves you. Someone does, it’s just that the darkness was so intense the silver lining didn’t manage to slip through. I hope that by succeeding to end your life puts your misery to an end. I hope that by choosing to take a leap of faith, you found peace. And to whoever is thinking about doing the same, please think twice, thrice, a hundred times before you actually do it. If you’re too afraid to talk to someone personally, take it out on a blog. Write it out. Pour it out on an online piece of paper. Don’t do it without thinking it through. Someone loves you and cares for you, even when you think nobody does.

Dear Lea Salonga:
Lea Salonga and Jhack

Lea and Me: 22 Feb 2015

I don’t want to sound like a stalker or a crazy person but I miss you. I know it’s only been months since I last saw you but I miss you. I may not be as close to you as my friends are, and I know that you haven’t approved my friend request, but I don’t really care. The fact that you know me and know that I care for you is enough for me. I know that you already know how much you mean to me, how you will always be my salvation. I just hope that, when you get back here in Manila, you and I will have a chance to talk about that dream I had of you. I still don’t know what it means, and how “you can help me”, but I’m interested to know what you really think. I hope you’re doing great in New York rehearsing for Allegiance. Break a leg on your show, and I do pray that you’ll get your second Tony’s for this.

Dear RBF:

What happened to us? What did I do to deserve to be treated this way? Why are you ignoring me? I don’t know what happened that made you switch sides, but I hope one day we’ll get to be adults and talk about this. It’s so sad to think the pages about our friendship is almost over, because we were such great friends. I didn’t even get to say goodbye. Why?

Dear Dad:

You are such a liar. You said you don’t like that kind of responsibilities, what are you doing, then? Why are you hurting us this way? You promised your mother just before she died that you will change, that you’re just waiting for “it” to happened. It’s been months since it happened, how come you haven’t done anything? You know, I hate not sharing my blessings with you. I wanted to give the world to you, but you’re turning me into a monster. People said I should just let you be and get out of this hell-hole we call home, but that’s the thing. This is home. You are my home. And it hurts to see my home invaded by someone who doesn’t even belong here. Please. Step into the light and come to your senses… before it’s too late.

Dear Mom:

jhack and momI’m sorry for being such a pain in the ass. I know I haven’t been Daughter of the Year ever since you passed away, but I also believe that you know why. I’m sorry we haven’t visited you in a long time. I’ve just been busy with work and rehearsals. Please don’t be mad. I’m not abusing my body. I know it seems like it, but I’m taking as much care of my body as I can. And I promise, that once I’m done with the choreography, I will make sure to fix my schedule. I know I can’t keep pretending that I can be superwoman everyday, so I’m asking you to please be with me in this journey. I don’t know how long I will last without you by my side. I miss you so much, Mom. Please know that there’s not a day that has gone by that I haven’t thought about you. I love you.

Dear Future Husband:

Where are you? I’m here. I’ve been looking for you. Please. Come find me.

Dear Future Child:

Sorry, kid. Daddy’s been hung up. Hold tight, okay? Once Daddy found me, I promise we’ll come get you as soon as we can. I love you. I can’t wait to finally see and be with you.

Dear Readers and Followers:

Thank you for taking a few minutes of your precious time to visit and read my blog. I don’t know what I’ve done (or, well, written) for you to think I’m interested enough because most of the time I think I’m just rambling and ranting, but thank you for being my online eyes, ears, and shoulders. You have no idea how much you mean to me, even though at first I thought an audience wouldn’t matter. I know I’ve been awful to you for not giving back, but thank you still. You rock!

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

11 thoughts on “Dear, Oh Dear…

  1. Pingback: For Jackielyn | Boomerang Zone

Thoughts?

