My Sacrifice.

15th September, 2015. 11:26am

Writing 101, Day 7: Hook ’em with a quote

Today, use a quote or passage from something you’ve read to introduce your post.

Kiera Cass The heir quotes

Photo c/o Epic Reads on Youtube

It’s funny that today’s assignment is about using a quote or a passage from something we have read before because ever since Epic Reads turned me into a book nerd, I have been taking photos of quotes that I liked from all the books I read. Now? Now, I can’t pick a single quote that stands out for me. Either they’re worthless and I actually just wasted those times trying to get a decent shot, or I simply need to finally go to bed and sleep because I have been awake for almost 36 hours now and I’m crazy to think I can still write a decent post for our assignment.

Okay, I’m bluffing. You don’t have to judge me. I know my sentences are probably way too long right now and I’m not pausing and not even bothering to put proper punctuation and I don’t really care much that I don’t so I apologize if you might be needing a breather by the time you reach the end of my post. Also, I did not check my post for grammatical errors and stuff and please bear with sleepless girl today. I promise tomorrow will be better. Or not. :s

But I’m not kidding, you know. I really do have folders upon folders of photos of quotes from the pages of the books that I have read and right now, looking at each of them feels like my brain cells are dying. What’s worse is that as I was looking at the photos that I took, I suddenly realized I don’t remember some of the stories on those books. Again, either I need to head over dreamland soon or I just wasted thousands of pesos buying books that doesn’t stick with my memory.

.
.
.
**drawing blank**
.
.
.
**thinks**
.
.
.
Do you know how many folders I have of said quotes and passages? 17. SEVEN-FUCKING-TEEN and I can’t even choose a single passage. Bummer.
.
.
.
.
.
.
**Stares at the bookshelf, willing myself to think.**
.
.
.
.
**Miserably fails.**
.
.
.
Okay, hold up. Fine. I’ll just settle with this quote from The Heir since I can’t get it off my mind, though I’m not sure I understand everything it says but I’ll share it anyway because…  uh… because I liked it? :s

It’s a quote from The Heir by Kiera Cass. It’s funny that I chose a quote from this book because I only gave it three stars, but I chose this passage (only) because she’s currently in Manila for a book signing event on September 18-20. I know, who woulda thought a YA author would have a 3-day book signing event in Manila, right? Well, what can you say, we’re suckers for sappy teenage romance and dystopia. Either that or we’re all just natural book nerds.

**I’m say ‘either’ a lot today, am I? Sheesh, what is wrong with me?

Anyway, I chose this quote because I can relate to it. I have sacrificed a lot for my family. I gave up what I really wanted to do then because my family told me “No.” And you know, despite all the sacrifices that I have and are making, and even if I always rant about how sucky my life is, at the end of the day it’s alright. In a way, and as morbid as it may sound, I do enjoy making sacrifices for my family; the people who matter to me the most. I don’t know if I’m actually going to be rewarded when all these is through but whatever. At least I made them happy… at least that’s the hope.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “My Sacrifice.

  1. Some days it seems like I have an abundance of time…for reading lengthy, delightfully confusing posts like yours. I could write a lengthy comment but one thought lingers. When I was 18, my father insisted that I go to college and major in one of his three possibilities. He died. I bolted and chose my way. Sixty years later and I understand that he was right. No regrets as I found his way later in lifr. Be well. Penny

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, so my post is actually confusing! I’m going to have to bang my head once I reread my post after I took a long, well-deserved sleep, am I? Oh, well, at least I know I’m right. Thank you for your honesty! 🙂

      And regarding the short tale you shared, I’m sorry if I can’t process it properly, but I think we always realize things when it’s already too late. I can relate, too! It’s a sad reality we all face. 😦

      Like

Thoughts?

