In the Red Room…

14th September, 2015.  1:40pm

Writing 101, Day 6: The space to write

Today, describe the space where you write. Or, if you don’t have a dedicated place, what is your ideal setting?
Consider these questions to shape your post:

  • What are your writing habits?

  • What equipment or supplies do you use to write?

  • What do you need and want in a physical space?

Today, insert a poll at the end of this post to gather ideas on what to write.

redroomBeing a “writer” since 2006, I can say that my writing styles and settings have changed. When I was going to the office and have a steady 8-5 job (as opposed to the US’ 9-5), I was so used to writing with music, movie and/or TV show in the background. Oh yes, even with my former officemates’ loud chatter in the background PLUS the songs and/or videos playing on my iPod (or desktop), I can write an average of 35 50-100 words in less than four hours. But ever since I started working from home, my muse prefers to work in a more quiet surroundings. Either that or I’m actually just aging.

Okay, that was insensitive. The truth is it actually depends on what I was writing about. Is it work-related? Is it for my blog? Is it one of my “projects?” See, the thing is, if I’m writing an article for a client, I usually prefer to listen or watch something first before writing the piece. It’s where I draw inspiration from. If I’m writing a post for my blog or one of the stories I write, however, I don’t care about where I was or how quiet the place is; what matters is when the my Muse hits me with inspiration, all I do is just type away. Whether it’s from my laptop, my phone or my iPod, when creative juices flow, I just write it out. No holds barred.

But since we’re talking about the setting here, where I usually write my heart out, whether it’s work-related or personal is in my old bedroom. I’ve spent so much time in this room; it knows all my secrets and woes, and it’s one sacred place where I can do anything that’s away from prying eyes and ears. In this red room, I write whatever flows in my mind. I’ve published countless posts here, saved hundreds of drafts, cried while writing, or laughed at my own comebacks that I thought were witty even if they weren’t. It’s one place untouched by darkness, and it’s where I prefer to write out of all the rooms here in our house. That particular photo I uploaded is actually where I do my work. Sometimes, just looking at all the books in front of me is enough to give me inspiration on what to write next.

I hated being interrupted when I write. I always argue with my Dad or my sister whenever they interrupt me when I’m in the middle of writing. One example is when I’m doing shownotes for ONCE. I always lock my door during podcast. I even have a DO NOT DISTURB sign on my door, and it always, ALWAYS annoys me when people knock on my door when they clearly know I’m not to be disturbed. It’s those times when being out of earshot for two seconds can make you miss an entire sentence or two, and as a writer, it annoys the heck out of me. I’m so paranoid and OC when it comes to writing for my clients.

On the other hand, I don’t really mind where I am when I’m simply writing for fun. All I need is a clear mind, my laptop, iPod or my phone. Sometimes, it doesn’t matter who’s around me, as long as I’m in the mood to write. It may be as quiet as a mouse or as loud as a crowd, I don’t care. When the creative juices flow, I just write. I write until I get dizzy from writing. Or until someone breaks my concentration.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

10 thoughts on “In the Red Room…

  1. Pingback: CLASSIFIED. | When My Brain Farts

Thoughts?

