Smarty Pants

17th August, 2015. 10:30pm

NaBloPoMo, Monday, August 17, 2015

Do you think knowledge is power?

Hermione Granger gif

Photo c/o: tumblr.com

Do I think knowledge is power? Of course, it is. I believe it’s a curse, too.

There was a time when someone told me I was too smart for my own being like it’s a bad thing. I was never the smartest kid in class, nor was I dumbest, but I can say that reading helps a lot in gaining more knowledge of things I have never learned at school or at work. *Reading makes you smarter, you know. I love everything I learned every time I finish a book, but I hate it when people say that reading is a hobby only for geniuses. It’s not a hobby, it’s a way of life. One that can take you places and teach you things without having the need to move your physical body.

Miriam Santiago Lines

Photo c/o: facebook.com/MiriamSantiagoLines

Another reason I said that knowledge is both power and a curse is when you’re a woman and you are knowledgeable. Look at Hermione Granger. She’s not the most beautiful girl in class nor was she a pure blood like her classmates, but she was definitely one of the brightest witches of her time, if not ever. During their first year (**okay, actually, not just her first year but you know what I mean), Hermione was scrutinized for being so smart. She frowned when their examinations were cancelled; even her professor hated her for being such a know-it-all all the time (which she is, btw). The thing is, Hermione shouldn’t have been treated like that just because she’s smarter than anyone else in the room. It’s not her fault she knows every page of their every book before even the school year started and her classmates do not.

Another great example is Philippine Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago. I admire her because she’s so smart and witty. Here in the Philippines, Senator Miriam is known for her witty phrases and jokes, but there are other people who are threatened by her being too-smart. Why is it that when it’s a man who is knowledgeable it’s okay but when it’s a woman, it’s almost too good to be true? If you don’t know things, or don’t exert effort to know things, how do you expect yourself and/or your life to grow and improve? Think about it.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “Smarty Pants

  1. Pingback: Where have all the bloggers gone – Third-week NaBloPoMo roundup | Keeping Track

Thoughts?

