Count on me on these… Or Not.

12th August, 2015. 10:20pm

daydreaming

Photo c/o: acculturated.com

Okay, so I was MIA for the past three days and that was because my days have been in a whirlwind since Monday. I started my week by attending the relaunch of The Frazzled Cook, a quaint restaurant located at the heart of Quezon City (please remind me to blog about it soon), and then of course I had to work once I got home. Aside from work, I was also busy binge reading The Selection series by Keira Cass. I’m doing in because she will be here in Manila on September 19-20 for the Manila International Book Fair and I’m planning to attend the panel. So that’s that. For the past three days, I was spending my days attending events, working and reading for hours, and when I said hours, I mean until 5 in the morning. Not even exaggerating.

Now, back to NaBloPoMo. Since I’m feeling too lazy to write a post for each day, I will be summarizing them down in this one post instead. I hope you won’t get bored reading through them. I promise to be brief as much as I can, don’t worry. Okay, here goes nothing…

NaBloPoMo, Monday, August 10, 2015

What are three things you know 100% to be true?

I’ve been thinking about this since Monday, and I can think of many things to answer this but decided to come up with these phrases instead:

“If you ain’t got nothing nice to say, just shut the f*ck up!”
I got this phrase from Lea Salonga. It was her signature on AFLS newsgroup and I think this is true. As a communications graduate, I believe that there is a fine line between speaking your mind and just being plain rude. Just because there is freedom of speech doesn’t mean you can be an ass to your neighbor.

When the Next Top Model franchise was brought here in the Philippines, Top Model fans noticed how different the two franchises are. In America’s Next Top Model, the girls are more vocal when it comes to voicing out their opinions, even if it means arguing with every single girl in the competition. That’s not how things were with Philippines’ Next Top Model. The girls argue, but not as shocking as how contestants were in ANTM, or other franchises for that matter.

Another great example for this is Twitter. If you have a Twitter account, you know how rude Tweeps can be. Don’t get me wrong, I love Twitter. I love it more than Facebook, but there’s just way too many trolls on that website. People hide behind anonymous profiles and bashing people—celebrities or not—thinking they can get away with it. Again, just because you have the right to say everything you wanted to say doesn’t mean you should say it. If you don’t have anything (nice) to say, just shut up.

“You’ll never know what you got ’til it’s gone.”
I actually realized this just recently. I’ve neglected a lot of things in my life before, and now, as I grow older, I realized I shouldn’t have done that. Recently, I was having a hard time coming up with the right choreography for our dance musical and it made think that maybe if I only attended the gymnastics and ballet classes, then perhaps I wouldn’t be having a hard time now. I know it might seemed a little thing for some people, but it is a big deal to me and it kinda breaks my heart that I’m learning it the hard way.

“Dreaming is not enough. You have to work (hard) for it to make it come to life.”
Now, this one I know to be 200% true. When I was in high school, all I ever wanted was to see my poem on MEG. It has always been my dream to see my own name in my favorite magazine. If I didn’t take that chance to call the magazine for an interview when we were in 2nd year college, I wouldn’t have known the editors. If I didn’t work hard on my article and showed it to one of their contributors, they wouldn’t have published it on the magazine. I wouldn’t have had the chance to be an intern and later, a contributor myself.

See, the point is, it is okay to dream. But no matter how big or small your dream is, you would never achieve them if you don’t work hard for it. Do something, but make sure you do the right thing. You’ll never know what fate has in store if you don’t get up and do something to live your dream.

NaBloPoMo, Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Do you need to have hard-cold facts to believe something, or do you know things with your heart?

Huh. This is a hard one because again, it depends on what is being said. I can’t say I only agree with either of the two all the time because that’s not true. There are times when I wasn’t convinced with hard-cold facts because my heart is telling me no, but there are some days when hard-cold facts would slap me in the face, knocking me to my senses. You just can’t be sure with these things, can you?

NaBloPoMo, Wednesday, August 12, 2015

What was something you once believe was true but now you know is false? How did you feel when you learned the facts?

To be honest, I almost don’t want to answer this prompt. At first, I’m not sure I know how to answer this and second, the answer is just to painful. I tried coming up with other things but only one really comes to mind: There are parents don’t give a shit about what their kids feel.

I used to think parents are like your knight in shining armor, your Fairy Godmothers. Boy, was I wrong! You guys know my tale about my Dad, right? And trust me, until now I still tell myself that he did what he did because he just simply didn’t properly grieve the lost of my Mom. He kept saying how he doesn’t want to get married again, because he doesn’t like the responsibilities that go with it, but if he never intends to remarry, then why did he get someone pregnant?

A lot of people have asked him if he even thought about what his kids (us) would feel when he did what he did. I was expecting to hear a sentence or two, but two illegitimate kids later (who I’m not sure if it really was his) and he still can’t give a straight answer. What hurts the most is that people think we (I) “simply don’t want to understand him and don’t want to give him a chance.” Understand? Give him a chance? Did he ever “understand” us? How we felt finding out about it from other people? Have we not given him enough chance to do something about? He never did. He just assumed that it will be okay with us since we live in his house. And it sucks, you know. It sucks that your thoughts and feelings are invalid just because you’re living under his roof.

I know I couldn’t know the future for sure, but if and when I have my own kids, I’ll do whatever it takes so that they won’t experience the hell I’ve been through.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “Count on me on these… Or Not.

  1. Pingback: Falling behind – Second-week NaBloPoMo roundup | Keeping Track

Thoughts?

