Elastic Heart

21st May, 2015. 5:22pm

Julianne-Hough-Derek-Hough-Mohegan-Sun-Arena

Dancing Sibs: Julianne Hough and Derek Hough
Photo c/o: newsroom.mohegansun.com

Over the past few days, I have been obsessing over the Hough siblings, re-watching their old videos both on film and Dancing With the Stars. I like it when dancing siblings perform together. I think it makes it more special because you don’t have to fake chemistry because it’s already there; precision is an added bonus, of course, but it’s the heart and soul that’s pouring out when you see dancing siblings perform together on stage. It’s exactly why I’m such a fan of Derek Hough and Julianne Hough.

I found out about Derek Hough in 2010, when Nicole Scherzinger was one of the competitors on the show. I didn’t know he was Julianne’s sister, and I already forgot when I found out about her, but it amazes me how in-synced they are whenever they perform on stage. Julianne is crazy good, just watch her on Burlesque, and Footloose, and Dancing with the Stars; Derek, on the other hand, isn’t only as good as his sister, he is also HOT with a capital T! I mean, how was he such a great dancer and good looking at the same time? Life is soooooooo not fair!

So, anyway, this week on Dancing with the Stars finale, Julianne and Derek Hough yet again showed their dancing prowess when they performed Elastic Heart with Sia. The dance was great, but it was the story behind the performance that made me love it, and them, even more.

In Julianne Hough’s website, she blogged:

A little insider info: It was Sia who contacted Derek and said she wanted him to perform to her song. Meanwhile, Derek and I have been prepping for MOVE Live on Tour, and we already planned on putting this song in our show. Derek always envisioned it as a romantic love story but I saw it in a way that expressed the difficulties that come with a family’s love. In our lives, we’ve had experiences where we want so badly to keep the peace in our family. The lyrics say, “I’m like an elastic band. If you pull too hard, I’m going to snap.” We came up with a concept based around family dynamics and how a family’s love can be difficult, too.

Just because we’re family and we’re expected to always love each other, that doesn’t mean it isn’t hard at times. So for us, this was a chance to show how we dealt with this when we were kids versus how we deal today as adults. As children, we can tease each other one minute then quickly move forward to playing together. Whereas today we build up so many walls that in the end we’re really just fighting against ourselves.

What I love about their interpretation with the song is the accuracy of her description about our relationship with our family. She was right; just because we’re family and are expected to love each other, doesn’t mean it isn’t hard. Now that my sister has moved to another country to be with her husband, it’s just me and my Dad (and all of his baggage) left at home. I wouldn’t lie in saying I’m not having a hard time adjusting to the situation, especially financially, but I’m trying to deal with things as best as I can despite all the walls my Dad and I have put up against each other. I don’t know how long it will stay up, or if it will crumble down at all, but their piece made me realize that the higher those walls come up, the only one I’m hurting in the end is myself. Maybe someday I will open myself up to him again, but I know those walls will only get crushed when both of us come to realize how it’s affecting not only ourselves, but our family as well.

Here, watch their amazing performance from last Tuesday’s Dancing with the Stars finale:

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “Elastic Heart

  1. Just got around to reading this. I’m totally with you on the Houghs, especially Derek. Marvelous duo. And that performance was incredible and heart-wrenching. My sister and I still live at home, and she will never leave because she has Down Syndrome, so my older sister is like my younger sister, but an adult and has a mind of her own. It’s complicated, and sometimes we just don’t get along. Other times we do. So I totally get this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, right? the song made much more sense when they interpreted this, and to be honest, their version is much better than seeing a young girl dancing with an older guy. But I love how they envisioned the song. When you live with a family member, you don’t always get along, but you still love them at the end of the day, no matter their shortcomings. It’s like what Julianne said on her blog, dealing with our family is like an elastic band (err, heart). You can pull and pull but it will come back to its original form, unless, of course you pull too hard, then that’s when it snaps and you end up hurting not just yourself, but the other person, as well.

      By the way, I totally feel you, having to take care of a family member who’s special. It can sometimes feel a little too overwhelming, but at the end of the day you can’t leave them. They’re part of what makes you YOU.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

