Top of the Pack

30th April, 2015. 6:15pm

Writing 101, Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

Today is a free writing day. Write at least four-hundred words, and once you start typing, don’t stop. No self-editing, no trash-talking, and no second guessing: just go. Bonus points if you tackle an idea you’ve been playing with but think is too silly to post about.

lea

Photo c/o: philstar.com

They said the Philippines is where you can find the best singers, but I have to disagree. We don’t have JUST the best singers, we also have a lot of talented dancers. I mean, when it comes to talent portion, Pinoys are not one to back off it.

*You can agrue with me all you want. But when it comes to talents, I’m sticking with my countrymen.

It’s such a shame, really, that talented Filipino artists don’t get enough credit the way they should. But thanks to a reality competition like Asia’s Got Talent, people are now seeing how talented we all are. I mean, we won’t have a number of contestants (and two receivers of Golden Buzzers advancing to Grand Finals so far) if weren’t so talented. (So far we have four contenders competing in the grand finals—El Gamma Penumbra, Junior New System, Gerphil Flores, Gwyneth Dorado) I haven’t seen the latest episode yet where El Gamma Penumbra received the Golden Buzzer but I won’t doubt they did great. I trust the four judges that they know what they’re doing.

But aside from these four talented artists, our country have produced more artists who are just as talented as anyone else in the world. We have Lea Salonga, of course—Tony Award and Olivier winner, and Disney Legend; remember Miss Saigon? Uh, I love that 25th Anniversary Gala performance—but we also have other artists every Pinoys around the world should be proud of; Charice, for one (although I’d be honest and say I’m not exactly a fan, but she’s undeniably a great singer, too), the Jabbawockeez (America’s Best Dance Crew winner), and other artists I don’t remember now, but I’m sure there are more out there. The point is, despite the fact that our country is a “third world” (ehem, developing) country, it doesn’t mean we are also on the bottom when it comes to showcasing our talents.

But speaking of belonging in a developing country, I think the only thing that’s hindering us from achieving that Hollywood level of greatness when it comes to performing is budget. The US and UK, among other “rich” countries have XXX amount of budgets at their disposal. We don’t. Try having Junior New System or El Gamma Penumbra perform what they showed on Asia’s Got Talent and I’m pretty sure it won’t look as perfect as that. And it’s okay, what we lack in special effects we fill with talent and passion. I think that’s more important.

I can probably go on for days explaining about how talented we are but I think it’s better if I just show you right? I may not be a big fan of the Philippine Entertainment Industry (I only watch a small number of TV series regularly), but when it comes to performing, I highly believe that we, Pinoys, are on top of the pack.


PS: Although I love the fact that we have so many representatives for the Grand Finals in Asia’s Got Talent, it also scares me because, hello, VOTING? Hahaha! Good luck, Pinoys. May the best Filipino act wins.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

5 thoughts on “Top of the Pack

Thoughts?

