The Garden of Life

30th April, 2015. 5:46pm

NaBloPoMo, Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Leonard Nimoy tweeted, “A life is like a garden. Perfect moments can be had, but not preserved, except in memory.” Write your own analogy for life that includes a garden.

rose-13903_640

Photo c/o: pixabay.com

When someone we care about dies, we tend to be afraid that we will forget about them. It’s true, they will no longer be with us as we go on our life, but their memories live inside of us forever. That doesn’t mean that every single memory can be preserved, though.

Trust me, if I could only bottle up every single memory I had of my mom, I would’ve done it already. But I can’t. I don’t have that kind of power. I only have what my mind, body and spirit can handle. It’s like that Leonard Nimoy quote, except I believe that even memories can be erased.

I know, it’s such a morbid thought. But it’s true, isn’t it? Call it aging, call it memory gap, or even make up an excuse like it’s simply not special enough, but there are memories we simply cannot remember, no matter special they once was to us. I can’t remember everything about my Mom, and that part of my garden that she occupies are almost extinct. However, there’s still one flower in that part that remains alive and glowing. It’s knowing that even when the time comes that I forget every pesky detail about my experiences with my mom, I know she will live inside of me… forever.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

