If Italy didn’t happen…

27th April, 2015. 3:47pm

Writing 101, Day Fifteen: Your Voice Will Find You

Today’s Prompt: Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force. How does that make you feel?
Today’s twist: While writing this post, focus again on your own voice. Pay attention to your word choice, tone, and rhythm. Read each sentence aloud multiple times, making edits as you read through. Before you hit “Publish,” read your entire piece out loud to ensure it sounds like you.

Kalinangan ItalyWhen I was a junior high, our dance troupe was fortunate enough to be sent to Italy to represent our country for the 75th International Folk Dance Competition. It was one of the best experiences I had as a dancer. But what if I failed the audition? What if my trainer followed my parents and told me I wouldn’t be joining the group because it’s too expensive to send one child abroad, let alone two? To be honest, I don’t want to think about it, but I’d probably have gone all Evil Queen on them.

I was a very awkward and shy girl, but ever since I became a dancer, my confidence increased. I didn’t know I could dance, so it was incredibly humbling when they told me I passed the audition. Out of dance troupes from three different high schools, I was one of the dancers who will join the group to represent our country. I don’t know what I would have done or felt if they told me I wouldn’t join the touring group, ESPECIALLY if I actually passed the audition.

Being a dancer isn’t easy. When me and my sister joined the group, our aunts told us that we would just be ruining our lives because of the amount of time we had to pour on rehearsals. Of course, it didn’t, but if I didn’t join them in Italy, I probably would have stayed in school and look for the remaining dancers. I don’t know where I would end up eventually, all I know is that it will definitely devastate me.

Come to think of it. I would have accepted it if they tell me I didn’t pass the audition. But if I did and they told me I wouldn’t join the group because my parents said so, I’d definitely be mad at them. I’m just glad our choreographer didn’t listen to my parents.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

