The Telan’s Compound

20th April, 2015. 4:47pm

Writing 101, Day Eleven: Size Matters (In Sentences)

Today’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old? Which town, city, and country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you?
Today’s twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences as you compose your response about the home you lived in when you were twelve.

jack0003

This isn’t me at aged 12, but here is a photo of me and my cousins, aunts and uncles (and that’s my beautiful Mom right there in rainbow stripes)

All my life, I’ve lived in 7th Avenue East Grace Park. From the day I was born, ’til I was 12, and now that I’m almost 30 in a few month’s time, I’m still living in the same home I grew up in.

When my grandparents were young, they were fortunate enough to have bought a land big enough for their seven kids to have a home of their home. That’s where we live now, in a home that my dad’s parents gave him. It wasn’t that big, but it’s home. Plus, I don’t have to go too far when I’m in need and my parents couldn’t be there.

Not that I’m complaining, I mean, it’s great living in a place where everything is readily available. Don’t have any food for lunch because your parents are still in the office? That’s nothing to worry about! Just go out and knock next door and ask for food from your aunts and/or uncle. Bored out of your mind because your siblings are still in school? No problem! Cousins are out there! Go play with them anytime you want! However, the down side of being five feet away from your relatives is, well, anyone can get nosy at times. They’re just on your business all the time!

On the other hand, our compound is also one of the well-known compounds in our village. If you’re commuting and is trying to get to our house, finding our place is so easy. Like, really, it’s not that hard to locate.

But despite living in a place where almost all of my relatives live, we always prefer to keep within ourselves.

Ming Na Wen and Lana Parrilla - Calgary Expo 2015

Ming Na Wen and Lana Parrilla at Calgary Expo 2015
Photo c/o: Ming Na Wen’s Instagram account

**See, the thing is, I really don’t know what else to say because I’ve already talked about this and I’m still in the middle of fan girling moment because Ming-Na Wen just shared a photo of her and Lana Parrilla together in Calgary Expo 2015. I can’t believe Agent May (of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.) and Regina Mills (of Once Upon a Time) just met at a fan convention. It’s like a fan girl’s dream come true. Ahhhhhh!!!

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “The Telan’s Compound

Thoughts?

