Grace Park

16th April, 2015. 7:39pm

NaBloPoMo, Thursday, April 16, 2015

Where did you grow up? Tell us about the place.

My family lives in Grace Park, Caloocan City (Cal-o-o-can). My father’s parents built a compound here and since then, all seven of them and the families reside in one compound. We call it the “Telan’s Compound.”

My family has been a pretty popular name in our place. When you’re commuting and you asked a tricycle driver to take you to where the Telan’s live in, most of them would know where to go. It was due to the fact that my grandfather, my Dad, and my uncle (his brother) were all village officials. But despite the fact that  our neighbors who we are, me and my cousins don’t really like hanging outside. While most kids would play outside their houses, we prefer to play inside the compound. (**That’s why I can’t present a photo of our town; either that or I’m just too lazy to find one and/or get outside the house and take a picture)

Where we live is a borderline of two cities. As in we were literally a house away from the borderline. I don’t know why, but I find it really funny.

7th Avenue East Grace Park is a little town but what I liked about it the most is the church. In our town, there are two most prominent religions—Roman Catholics and Iglesia ni Cristo (Chruch of Christ)—and being a devout Catholic, it makes me feel happy and proud that my little town is filled with balanced church goers. When I say balanced, I mean not over-the-top “Praise the Lord, Allelujah, Amen!” type who will condemn you if you come out of the house wearing short shorts or if they found out you’re gay. While no one’s perfect, and there clearly are some assholes around, the people in my town are pretty accepting and respectful with everyone, regardless of the sexual preference or religious beliefs. I also liked the fact that it’s a pretty peaceful town. And best of all, what I like about 7th Avenue East Grace Park is that it rarely floods in our place during rainy season. And that’s saying something for a small city like ours.

I told myself that when I finally move out, I will find a place that’s a lot like my own town. Peaceful, religious, and safe. And I know, even if someday I happen to find myself a new home, 7th Avenue East Grace Park will always be my home.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

