Catching Up with Hong Kong

15th April, 2015. 5:00pm

Writing 101, Day Eight: Death to Adverbs

Today’s Prompt: Go to a local café, park, or public place and write a piece inspired by something you see.
Today’s twist: write an adverb-free post.

Tim Ho Wan Megamall**Before anything else, can I just say that this is the hardest assignment for me. I want my adverbs back!

I stood outside Bread Talk, waiting for my friend Ana to arrive. We were supposed to meet at 1pm, but knowing her, she will not arrive on time. I busied myself by listening to some new songs I downloaded, trying hard not to fall asleep. I only had a couple of hours of sleep, and I haven’t eaten anything for the last 10 hours. After a while, she and I met a couple of stores from Bread Talk, with her wearing big a smile on her face. It was nice to see Ana again.

I knew we had to eat, so I directed her to a restaurant called Tim Ho Wan, an eating place that is well-known in Hong Kong. I’ve been wanting to try the ones in Manila ever since I got back from my little trip, but never got to because it is always packed with customers. Thank God this one wasn’t. We only had to wait a couple of minutes, so we spent the time catching up.

As she and I were talking, one of the service crews called and lead us to our seats.

Choosing what to order is easy. I knew I had to order Baked Buns, a delicious bread baked with pork fillings. I’m not a big fan of pork, but I know I can’t leave the place without trying the Philippine version. Ana and I also ordered a couple of dimsum and noodles to go along with the Baked Buns. Upon waiting for our orders, I looked around and noticed something: Tim Ho Wan in Manila looks like a decent restaurant whereas in Hong Kong, Tim Ho Wan is more like the average dimsum place. Still, the people seem to be enjoying their own baked buns.

Tim Ho Wan Baked Buns

Tim Ho Wan Hong Kong’s Baked Buns (IFC Mall branch)

One particular customer I noticed was sitting beside us. After they had lunch, they ordered seven more orders of pork buns to go. Tim Ho Wan in Hong Kong is inexpensive, but in Manila, the prices are a couple of peso (or HKD) higher. Still, that did not faze the family beside us, and I couldn’t blame them. Tim Ho Wan’s baked buns is that good.

As they were waiting for their take outs, smiles were plastered on their faces. They were discussing how great the food was, and even comparing it to the ones in Hong Kong. Five minutes later, our own orders arrived.

Baked buns were what I expected; the fillings and the bread itself took me back three months ago when I first tasted Tim Ho Wan’s famous buns. The dimsum we ordered—Steam Spinach Dumpling with Shrimp, Spring Roll with Egg White, Pork Dumpling with Shrimp, Fried Noodle with BBQ Pork & Soy Sauce—were also just as good. It was that good that I can almost feel Hong Kong’s cold air breezing through my skin.

Before Ana and I left the place, I told myself I will go back at Tim Ho Wan with my siblings. After all, they’re the ones I would rather re-experience the little trip I did back in January.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

4 thoughts on “Catching Up with Hong Kong

Thoughts?

