Me vs My Inner Monologue

14th April, 2015. 4:15pm

Writing 101, Day Seven: Give and Take

Today’s Prompt: Write a post based on the contrast between two things — whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else.

Today’s twist: write your post in the form of a dialogue.

tumblr_my9pgfn7rD1rskaxjo1_500

Photo c/o: newhot997.com

ACT ONE

FADE IN:

INT. JHACK’S BEDROOM – EARLY MORNING

JHACK

I think I just scored another client.

ALEXX (AKA MY INNER MONOLOGUE)

And that’s supposed to impress me?

JHACK

Uh, yeah. I just, like, fucking got off the phone with someone who wanted to pay me to write show notes for a whole new bunch of shows!

ALEXX

And you’re actually happy about it? Did you ever think about your, oh I don’t know, ALREADY crazy schedule?

JHACK

Of course, I have!

ALEXX

And, what? You didn’t think it’s going to make it even more crazy?

JHACK

Why are you such a pessimist?

ALEXX

Because you think you’re freaking Superwoman but guess what, you’re not and you sure as hell isn’t Hermione Granger either, who can make her time turner necklace work so you can actually do all of it at the same time.

JHACK

So? That doesn’t mean I can’t handle all three clients at the same time, because I’m pretty sure I can.

Alexx suddenly rolls on the floor while laughing… LITERALLY!

JHACK

What the hell are you doing?

ALEXX

I was just laughing at your ass because you are SO sure you can handle this new task.

JHACK

Of course, I’m sure! I am, after all, SUPER FREAKING WOMAN!

ALEXX

Huh. Okay. Let’s see if you can still say that once you actually start working.

JHACK

I hate you.

ALEXX

Thanks! 🙂

Alexx smile so wide it made her look like the Chesire Cat.

FADE OUT:

ACT TWO

 FADE IN:

INT. KITCHEN – EARLY MORNING

Jhack is downstairs making coffee, with Alexx in tow, holding a water bottle.

ALEXX

You know, Rob’s right. You will be professionally successful.

JHACK

I know. I should thank him, even if he gave up so easily. Apparently, that was one thing he was right about.

ALEXX

You’re an idiot.

JHACK

Excuse me?!

ALEXX

You’re an idiot. You should have met him last Saturday.

JHACK

He asked me at 9 o’clock IN THE EVENING! And I haven’t slept in DAYS! How can you expect me to go out there and freaking meet someone when I can’t even stand up to pee last Saturday night?

ALEXX

I don’t know, take a venti-sized espresso or something? Stick a toothpick between your eyes so you won’t fall asleep. The point is, you could’ve had him by now if you weren’t such a bitch.

JHACK

Uhm, excuse me, Miss Know-it-All, but I’m not that desperate. And I sure as hell isn’t going out AT NIGHT with someone I have never even met. If I’m going to meet him, it would be at day time… IN PUBLIC.

ALEXX

Well, for your information, Miss Goody-Two-Shoes, the guy seems to be REALLY interested in you. At least you could have told him you’d go out with him next week. You have turned him down THREE TIMES now.

JHACK

Yeah, but I can’t just drop everything just so I can meet him on the day HE preferred. And FYI, I did try to compromise. I asked if he wants to meet last Saturday instead, but he dismissed me.

ALEXX

That’s because you pissed him off. You flirt with him like there’s no tomorrow but you act like Virgin (fucking) Mary when he starts asking you out? He’s right, maybe you should just stick with your laptop and keep writing.

JHACK

Well, if you like him that much then why don’t YOU date him.

ALEXX

Maybe I will. Let’s see who will have a love life first.

JHACK

Probably you. But at least I’d be richer.

Now Jhack is the one rolling on the floor laughing. Alexx suddenly steps on her fingers.

JHACK

Ow!

Jhack growls in pain as Alexx walks out of the room, laughing at her because she knows she’s doomed.

FADE OUT.

END OF SHOW

About the dialogue:

When I read about today’s assignment, I really didn’t know what to write at first. It sounds easy, I just couldn’t get my bearings on what I wanted to say. It wasn’t until after I got a phone call from my third (new) client that inspired me to write this script. I used the TV script format, at least some kinda like that. The two people I chose was me and my inner monologue. I chose myself because I’m currently wrestling with my having a new client. I know I feel happy about it, but a part of me is saying how idiotic I am for even considering a third client, so I put it into writing.

I also slipped a dialogue between myself and I about this guy I had a thing with recently. It was fun until he started asking me out, which I turned down because I don’t want to skip work, and he said that I will be successful professionally and wishes for me to find someone who can keep up with my career. While he might be right about achieving professional success, I intend to prove him and my inner monologue wrong about my priorities. I do prioritize love life, it’s just not my top choice at the moment.

That’s not wrong, though, is it?

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “Me vs My Inner Monologue

Thoughts?

