Extra Curricular.

13th April, 2015. 2:05pm

NaBloPoMo, Friday, April 10, 2015

What support are you grateful you had as a child to help you grow?

Kalinangan Group Photo

Me (right) and my sis (girl on the left) with our fellow dancers and Choreographer (man beside my sis on the right)

When we were in high school, my sister and I joined the Dance Troupe. She was sophomore, while I was a freshman. Our aunts (my Dad’s sisters) kept discouraging our parents for letting us join the group, for fear that it will ruin our studies. Gladly, our parents did not listen to them. We made it out through College okay.

I never thought my sister and I could ever join a dance company, let alone learn how to dance. When I was young, I loved to sing more than dance, but when I joined the group, I just fell in love with it. It’s a whole new way to express emotions for me.

As we attended rehearsals five (sometimes six) times a week, our parents were always there for us. They also never pressured us that we have to be on top of the class, although in the dance troupe it is a general rule to make sure we are. My sister and I have learned so much just by being a dancer. If your grades went down, you will get suspended until your grades went back up again. You cannot skip a class and use the group as an excuse. When we were members of the dance group, you have to be a role model. You have to do better. Maybe that’s why a lot of students were so jealous because we get grades they thought we didn’t deserve. What they don’t know is that it’s actually pretty hard to be a dancer and keep your grades high at the same time.

Now, after we were done with school and are now both successful with our own chosen careers, I am seeing my aunt’s kids go through the same path as ours. One of cousins told me that she actually wanted to join their school’s track and field team but her mom wouldn’t let her because, like what they told my parents before, it will just ruin her studies. We kept dissuading her; tell her that it wouldn’t especially if she really wanted to do it. We told her that being in a sports team may actually push her to do better in both her academics and extra curricular’s, but it didn’t faze her. She’s graduating from High School in a few months without even having the chance of trying out for what she really wants.

My sister and I were no longer that active with the dance group like before. But I was glad that our parents let us do what we want back then, even if it means risking our ability to juggle studies, rehearsals, shows, and tours.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

