Of love for musical theater and first love

06th April, 2015. 4:13pm – 4:33pm

Writing 101, Day 1: Unlock the Mind

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.  And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

I’ve never attended a master class before. I have done some theater before—as both an actor and choreographer—but I have never really attended any professional master classes, let alone acting workshops before (aside from the ones we did before rehearsals start). Watching a lot of master classes lately made me realize why I love musical theater in the first place. It’s more about developing a character, interpreting a song, and telling a story all at the same time.

One thing I wanted to share was Seth Rudetsky’s Master Class where he talked about developing a character. I didn’t know which musical the girl was singing from, but thanks to Seth, his teachings actually gave me a gist of what the character is singing about and who is she even supposed to be. I may not know everything about auditioning for a professional play or musical, but I do know all about auditioning for a spot in a dance group. It’s as grueling as it is in the musical theater, except we don’t open our mouths to showcase what we can do. Instead, we move our bodies and let it do the talking for us. And when we do, especially if we’re doing a Contemporary piece, putting your emotions on top of technicality is almost always better than freaking yourself out because you didn’t hit that last big move. It’s how you interpret the song, even in the simplest ways that makes the audience (or the audition panels) remember and hire you.

This also took me back to my post about Lea Salonga’s master class, which was recently held at the University of Miami and Council Rock High School South. Like Seth, she said that sometimes, less movement (ie; simplicity in performance) is more effective than going grand. There was one student that she literally stopped the performance because she was supposed to sing a very emotional song—Still Hurting from the musical, The Last Five Years—and although her vocal prowess is undeniably good, the girl lacks the emotions it require. With assistance from Lea, the girl’s performance improved.

If you are confused as to what she (and Seth) was talking about, here, listen and watch Lea’s own interpretation of the song. It was just a rehearsal, but it already sent me to tears, making me want to slash my wrist just by watching her.

Speaking of love, another thing I wanted to talk about is love itself. Last weekend, a cousin asked me how would I know if someone is really your first love. To be honest, I don’t know the answer. How do you know when someone is your first love? How does the “first love” feel?

Lately, I have been chatting with this person who puts smile on my face. Okay, yes, I have met him online, and I haven’t seen him in person, but I can’t deny the fact that he makes me happy. Was it love already? Or just the thrill that someone is making me feel special and important? I don’t know, really. I don’t even know where this will lead. Sometimes, when I pray, I pray to God to keep my head on the game; remind me of the possibilities; to not make me give everything, especially since I still practically don’t know this person yet.

Maybe, just like my love for musical theater, I’d just have to give my best and see how things will unfold. Who knows? Maybe he is just what I’ve been waiting for.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “Of love for musical theater and first love

  1. I love this. I remember the first time I started attending master classes and how it felt going in. I’ve played musical instruments since I was a child and as I reached the older years where classes were offered I loved going to them because of what and how much you learn. Your sentiments on how it reminded you of how much you love musical theater are spot on. Every time I attend a class it reminds me how much I love to play and learn. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thank you! You’re lucky to have attended master classes, and you’re right. You do learn A LOT just by attending to these classes. Sometimes, they give tips and advice that not even your music teachers have taught you before.

      Like

Thoughts?

