Just Like Mommy…

06th April, 2015. 4:58pm

NaBloPoMo, Monday, April 6, 2015

When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

mom1When I was a little girl, all I wanted was to be just like my Mommy—a nurse. It was all I ever wanted to become when I grow up… And then I learned how to write, read and fell so deeply in love with it, it ended up being a life-long career for me.

I’ve planned it when I was in Kindergarten. I will study hard and follow my Mom’s footsteps and become a nurse like her. Even study in her Alma Mater if I get accepted. But sometimes, when your heart pushes you towards another path, you just gotta have to follow it because it’s usually right.

Don’t get me wrong. I did actually tried passing my applications to medical schools. She even questions me what kind of job I had in mind to have after I graduate when I told them Mass Communication was my other choice. And when I got accepted in Mass Communication, I forgot all about Nursing to follow what my heart is leaning me into. I didn’t have an inch of regret even after I graduated.

I’ve never really realized how much I love writing until I got hired as a writer. When I was a kid and giving out hand made cards and letters to my parents, I thought I was just being a kid; all kids do it, I told myself. Turns out, it was the very thing that helped me find something I am quite good at—voicing my opinions through writing.

I don’t know what my Mom think of me being a writer, since she passed away before I even start taking up my major classes but I hope that she’s happy I grew up as my own person, and not as her shadow.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

