If it ain’t on Twitter, it ain’t news. Yeah?

23rd March, 2015. 4:11pm

NaBloPoMo, Monday, March 23, 2015

How do you get your news right now? How does it differ from 10 years ago?

breaking-news-on-twitter

Photo c/o: lighthouseinsights.in

I know, I should be reprimanded for not even reading the newspaper every morning, let alone watch the news on TV, but I just don’t have the time to do those things. See, my body clock is reversed; I wake up when everyone else is going to bed, and I’d be heading to dreamland when everyone in my country is just about to start their day. It’s just the kind of things you have to deal with when you’re working on a graveyard shift.

So where and how do I get the news right now? Online, of course! Usually, I get it from Twitter, but I also browse Yahoo! News once a day, for five days a week. It’s not very reliable, but it’s news just the same, which is why I have different sets of lists on Twitter reserved for News, Entertainment News, and everything else. It may not be the most reliable news source for anyone, but I’d take it anyway.

When we were studying, we were constantly told to read the newspaper and/or watch the news regularly. However, if your schedule is too tight and 9 hours isn’t enough to fit in two full-time jobs, online classes and personal blogging aside, keeping up with what’s going on in the world can be a challenge. But if you’re resourceful, you’ll find a way to keep in touch with what’s going on in the world, no matter where or how you get them.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

4 thoughts on “If it ain’t on Twitter, it ain’t news. Yeah?

    • I think what makes it less credible is that with online news, especially ones that you can read on Twitter or Facebook, you can’t be too sure whether it’s real or not. When we were in college, we were tasked not to resort to online materials (especially Wikipedia) because it’s a website that can be edited by anyone. Unless you follow official Twitter or Facebook accounts, you can rarely count anything you read online as valid news. I mean, for me, at least.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

