The Suckiness of Being a Female Writer

17th March, 2015. 2:52pm

NaBloPoMo, Tuesday, March 17, 2015

What unique stresses do you think women writers experience?

Writer's Block gif

Writer’s Block: Yup, it’s one of them, too!
Photo c/o: wifflegif.com

As someone who started out writing around for and with powerful women in an exceptionally competitive surrounding that is teen glossy, putting your name out there for the entire nation to see (err, read) can be hard. Not only are you competing with other female writers out there, you also need to think of your readers when writing your piece, which in my case, were female TEENAGERS.

Before my first article debuted in MEG, I’d always thought I’d never have a career as a writer. My grammar wasn’t as great as those who have worked with the magazine before me, and I didn’t come from any of those prestigious schools (ie; our own version of Ivy League) like them. I’m just an ordinary girl with a dream to have at least a chance to see her byline in her favorite magazine. Turns out, it’s not my school or my lack of being a wordsmith that are essential in pursuing that dream (although, of course, they are a contributing factor). What I need, as everyone does, is the right amount of passion, dedication and skill. Many people doubt I will ever work there, but I did. I managed to be accepted in the company after proving myself (I can do it).

You’d think it’d be easier once you’re in? Nope. Things just get doubly stressful. When you’re a female writer, and is working for a fast-paced company like a magazine or newspaper, you have to be on your toes… ALL THE TIME. You can’t be a shy girl (which I’m so bad at overcoming); speak up, let your thoughts be heard. I learned this when I left the magazine. The editors told me I have a potential, lots of it perhaps, but my inability to communicate personally hinders that potential. I think this is one unique stress that female writers, upcoming ones especially, experience.

Another thing that sucks as a female writer is, was, hiding behind a more “masculine” name. I remember an interview with J.K. Rowling where her publisher asked her to change her pen name because Joanne Rowling just doesn’t have quite a ring to go along with the Harry Potter series; she was basically told that she “should not publish under her real name, Joanne Rowling, because boys would not read a book written by a woman.” Of course,Ā  no one cared now that the master behind this iconic series was a woman, which only proves my point that it’s your passion, dedication and skill that will get you on top, not your sex or name, or even where you came from.

So why did J.K. Rowling published a book, The Cuckoo’s Calling, under another pseudonym, then? I presume it was so she could write something she likes without the pressure of being “THE AUTHOR OF HARRY POTTER SERIES.” I understand her, and it’s such a sad idea that some fans of Harry Potter would expect every other work that she writes will be something like Harry Potter, because The Cuckoo’s Calling was a great novel. (*No, this is not me being biased because I’m a Potterhead. I have actually read the book and liked it)

I know there are lots more stress that a female writer goes through, so these are just some of the examples, ones I’ve experienced myself, at least. I hope it wouldn’t have to be this way, but we all know that is far from not happening, maybe ever.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

5 thoughts on “The Suckiness of Being a Female Writer

  1. Great article. Reminds me of Nora Roberts the romance author writing under the name JD Robb (not gender specific etc.). Glad J.K. Rowling can write what she wants to, but sad she feels the need to use another name, but I can see why.

    Like

    • Thank you! It’s such a sad thought that some publishers think that female writers need to use a more masculine pen name in order to “sell”. I should have mentioned more authors, but I think JK Rowling is one good enough example of the topic.

      Like

  2. My stress as a female writer is that my family doesn’t think that writing is “work”. Yeah. Believe it. I get asked to sit at the DMV for hours at a time. They come home and ask “Where’s the cookies you should have baked?” See, writing really isn’t “work”. šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Oh, yes. That, too! While there are some who thought it cool if I tell them I was a writer, some people are such jerks for blatantly showing how your life is so lame because you’re JUST A WRITER… And then they will ask you to either write their thesis, check their assignment’s spelling and grammar, or make a poem for someone like you can easily conjure up words in ten seconds!šŸ˜‚šŸ˜ 

      Like

Thoughts?

