A Taste of Heaven

04th March, 2015. 1:25pm

This is a response to the Daily Prompt’s Just a Dream:

You’re having a nightmare, and have to choose between three doors. Pick one, and tell us about what you find on the other side.

Hand-reaching-for-door

Photo c/o: pixgood.com

I stood by the foot of the door as I watch the little girl steal the precious bird from the altar. While everyone ran after her, I led the little girl to a room so she can hopefully escape. But there were no other doors to take her to another room but the ones we came from. It’s all glass windows and walls, and people screaming from the other side, preparing to catch the thief.

It didn’t take a long time for me to realize that she could escape through the window, so I helped her open the glass windows. I don’t know if the little girl can see me, but I noticed how shocked she was when the window suddenly opened. She made it out even before the priest and the security get to her.

We ran and ran until we lose our breath. As the little girl ran as far away from the people chasing her, I noticed she and I are becoming one, and the bird she stole from the altar slowly disappears from her grip. A minute later, we started to fly.

We flew from roof to roof, until we landed on some small but beautiful house that no one seems to be living in. We entered through its wooden door and there, inside, was an empty room with three doors. At first I find it weird that a small house as this would have one room, let alone three. I went straight through the middle door, the one with a plain white door. As I turn the knob, the door swings open, sucking me into this giant void to nowhere.

When I opened my eyes, I found myself lying on a soft white sheet, in a bed fit for a princess. I don’t know if there was someone else in there. I didn’t even try to scream or ask for help. I knew, just by looking at my surroundings—peaceful and quiet—that this is somewhere I ought to be. I tried to ask myself whether I’m dead or have gone crazy, when a voice suddenly whispered, “you’re not… dead nor crazy. This is simply where you should be.” I stood up and looked around for the source of the voice, but I failed miserably.

I wanted to stay there. I knew I wanted to stay. It’s so far away from all the things I was going through outside of this heaven, and I knew that if I stay here, I can take whatever challenge that will be thrown my way. Suddenly, I was on the floor, being sucked by an invisible vacuum. I tried holding to anything I could, but it was no use. I was being swept away from this place that feels like heaven.

Panting, I woke up. Of course, I told myself, it was all just a dream.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

2 thoughts on “A Taste of Heaven

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Any Dream Will Tell You” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Thoughts?

