Women’s History Month

02nd March, 2015. 3:20pm

NaBloPoMo, Monday, March 2, 2015

It’s Women’s History Month. There has been so many important women who have shaped the world. Who do you immediately think of when you think about women (past or present) who bring about change?

Lea and Jhack

Lea and Me: 22nd Feb 2015
Taken during her birthday dinner

There are so many women I can choose that have “shaped the world.” Women who, by any means necessary, made everyone question their own way of life. But then, I wonder, why write about someone I vaguely know when I can pay homage to someone close to my heart?

I probably have bored you to death already with my tales about my Mom so I’m picking someone else who may not be related to me, but someone who has shed light on me when my world is darker than a nationwide power blackout.

Her name is Lea Salonga.

I know what you’re thinking… Lea AGAIN? Well, I just can’t help but admire her. Not only is she a Tony-award winner (which puts our country in the Broadway map), she is also a Disney Legend (and so far the only Filipina who became a two-time Disney Princess) and probably one of (if not THE) most popular Filipino artist in the whole world. But aside from everything that she has achieved, despite all the glory that she has brought to our country, what amazes me about this woman is her personality and attitude, not just her talent.

I mean, of course, she is undoubtedly one of the best singers this country has ever had, but  it’s her attitude—towards work and life—that makes me a fan. I have seen her on and off stage. I have seen countless interviews, rehearsals, and performances, but it’s when she’s off camera and behind the velvet ropes that makes me want to root for her more.

If you have seen The Voice of the Philippines (where she’s one of the four coaches), you would have an idea of what kind of Coach she is. Some people say she’s overacting all the time, while those who know better knows that that’s just really how she is. When it’s time to work, Lea never wastes any second. Good enough was never good enough for her. She may be a perfectionist, but her wanting for perfection always resonates her team. They may not always win, but you can definitely see the artist’s growth from the Blinds up to the Finale. For some reason, they just inherit her professionalism and clarity when it comes to standing on stage and performing.

Once the show is over, she’s just Lea. But you know what’s so great about her? With Lea, what you see is what you get. No sugarcoating, no pretenses, no bullshit. I have probably learned a lot of things from Lea more than I did from my father. Lea taught me the value of giving your best in everything that you do; taught me that, if there’s something you’re good at, you should never stop trying until you’re really, REALLY good at it.

Another reason why I chose to blog about her for today’s prompt is because when my Mom passed away, Lea has become my salvation. During the first few months after my Mom died, I would always wake up in the middle of the night crying. I would just cry until I fall back to sleep. Listening to her, watching her concerts, performances on TV or interviews brought light to me. Because of her, moving on from that devastating experience became easy. Because of her, going on with my day without my Mom became bearable.

There are a lot more things that I have learned from her, as well as ones that I probably shouldn’t say if I wanted to live, but one reason why she never cease to amaze me is because with Lea Salonga, you don’t have to pretend to be someone else; just be yourself because she definitely is, and she isn’t afraid to show it.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

