The Fastest Reader in Town

08th January, 2015. 2:46pm

So, for today’s Daily Prompt, I Got Skills, the question goes:

If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

Epic Reads' 365 Days of YA

Epic Reads’ 365 Days of YA
Photo c/o: epicreads.com

I could probably think of a million skills I want to have, but the one skill I’d probably rather have is the ability to read as many books as I can everyday. I know it sounds crazy, but if I can, I would read as many books as I can in a day.

I actually got this idea from Epic Reads’ 365 Days of YA. Imagine reading 365 books in 365 days… That, I think, is every book nerd’s dream! And while I don’t consider myself a book nerd (*okay, I kinda am, but I’m not a fast reader like other book nerds I know), it would be SO cool to finish reading one book (or more) a day.

It’s actually not that hard to do, because I have already done that before. It was one Sunday, and I was left alone at home. After waking up from an 16-hour sleep, I woke up around 11 in the morning, grabbed a quick brunch, went back to bed to finish a book. I finished around 3pm and after having a break (ie; taking a bath and late lunch), I started reading another book. I didn’t finish until after 8 hours or so, and by that time I already had dinner and has done every possible reading position in my room. When I finished reading the second book, I take a breath for a while because I just died of feeling the feels. After about half an hour, I started on another book. I didn’t finish reading the third book, because after almost 24 hours of reading, I realized I was exhausted. I made it halfway-through, though, and it was the best feeling in the world.

There was even a time last year when I managed to read 8 books in a month. Usually, I would  finish one book a week, or one book in a week and a half, but 8 books IN A MONTH?! Even I can’t believe it. So if I could do this—read and understand every pages in the book—like everyday, I would be the happiest reader in the world. And why would I choose to read than master other skills? Because the more you read, the more knowledge you gain. There’s nothing better than that.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

