In Pursuit of Happiness

17th December, 2014. 7:58pm

NaBloPoMo, Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Do you believe you need to know sadness in order to appreciate happiness?

DarkCloudSilverLining

Photo c/o: carifree.com

It’s easy to say that you’re happy, it’s another to feel that you’re truly happy. I’ve felt both ultimate sadness and infinite happiness, but when it comes to appreciating it, is it necessary to know sadness in order to appreciate happiness? To truly appreciate it?

My answer to that is a resounding no.

I mean, sure, going through a really sad experience allows us to appreciate the little acts of kindness that people do to us; the littlest of things brings us joy and for that, we are able to appreciate happiness. But what about those little kids? Were the looks on their faces not real?

I love it when I see my nephew and nieces happy. Even when we just buy them those little lollipop rings in the mall or the candy bracelets and necklaces, I always love seeing those big grins across their faces that they flash towards us. It’s pure, genuine happiness. I don’t think anything can top that.

Growing up, there are a lot of challenges thrown my way. I was scarred by my own parents before I even turned high school. It was even traumatic when my Mom passed away 9 months before my 18th birthday. But despite all that, I’ve learned that happiness doesn’t have to mean that I also have to go through tough times just so I can appreciate it. I just have to dig deep; look into the bright side of things, even though that seems impossible at that time.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “In Pursuit of Happiness

  1. I agree with you. Sadness sucks, and believe me I know utter and complete despair. However, l try to make an effort to look up at the stars in the night sky every night since that is a little bit of happiness I need. Sunrises and sunsets are great, too. Sometimes happiness can be a choice – but sometimes life sucks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

