Book Review: Anatomy of a Misfit

08th December, 2014. 1:31pm

Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

Photo c/o: goodreads.com

When I first read Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes, I instantly fell in love with it. I love the humor, although the language used in the book is not entirely for younger kids (there were a couple of cussing and dirty slang you may not want to hear your teenage son or daughter to say). But since I’m no longer a teenager, and I’d like to think that I have an open mind, I didn’t mind reading a few swearing; I love the fact that Portes was brave enough to write those in her novel, I’m surprised the book hasn’t even been banned yet and they shouldn’t because, geez, that would suck balls, man!

For me, this book was like going on a roller coaster ride. One minute you’re on your way up, having the best time of your life and then, just like that, it will pull you down and take you on the fastest, mind-blowing ride you’ll ever experience. I thought I was prepared for it, because I was so sure that those who have read it before me were just overacting when they said that it made them cry. Boy, was I wrong. If I was laughing my ass off from the beginning, I was a train wreck after the last chapter. Thank God I was reading it in my loft-style bed, where no one can see me crying like a ten-year old!

I don’t know why a lot of people say that it reminded them of Mean Girls. I mean, sure, Queen Bitch, I mean Queen Bee Becky Vilhauer was like Regina George’s twin sister, and I guess there were some parts of the book that will tie it in with the movie, but I think it’s more than that. Anika is definitely no Cady Heron. Cady is just a Mathlete, Anika’s a straight A student with a vampire father who will ship her back to Romania or wherever the hell he is if she gets a B, and I think Jared Kline is more handsome than Aaron Samuels. And, for what it’s worth, I actually find Anatomy of a Misfit funnier than Mean Girls. I’m a big Mean Girls fan. Mean Girls was my teenage years, so this is a fucking huge deal.

What I also love about the book is that it doesn’t just make you laugh your head off, it also rips your heart out and crush it into a million pieces. But most of all, the best part of it isn’t (just) the chapters that made me roll on the floor laughing, it’s when Anika starts realizing the implications of her actions. How, if you just choose to stand up for what (you think) is right and not give a fuck about your social status, you will then start to grow and learn a thing or two about life; the most important lessons of all. It perfectly shows us how our words and actions affect not only ourselves, but more importantly, other people, as well.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

