Princess for a day

02nd December, 2014. 4:29pm

NaBloPoMo, Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Talk about a surprise that made you happy.

On my 27th birthday, I went out with friends. I was never big on celebrations, and the last time we planned a party for my birthday was when I turned 18, so I never expected anything exciting to happen. When I arrived home, however, my nephew and nieces surprised me with a very simple but sweet message on my door:

P3 Bday Note

The note that my nephew and nieces left on my bedroom door

It was just a simple greeting, but it touched me because it was the first time that they did that to me, or any of us actually. What’s more was they even brought a cake and sang “Happy Birthday” as I prepare to go to bed. It was one of the happiest days of my life.

Before going home, however, I was given another surprised when my friends sang “Happy Birthday” to me when we were at Starbucks. After having dinner at Papa John’s, we decided to cool down by hanging out at Starbucks to catch up. Just as I was returning to our seats from the comfort room, they handed out a mini cake while singing the happy birthday song to me. Much to my surprise, some of the people in Starbucks also joined in and clapped along. I feel like a princess that day!

J's Birthday Starbucks

Me trying to hide my face from everyone in Starbucks as they sing “Happy Birthday” to me

From one surprise to another, it was also that very same day that I saw “the-one-that-got-away‘s” sisters. I didn’t tell my friends, and I’m not sure if his sisters noticed me, but I did. It was when we were approaching Starbucks. It was odd, but I was silently praying to see him. I didn’t, and it was fine… I guess.

Ever since that year, my nephew and nieces keep giving me and my sister little trinkets and cards that they made themselves, and more than well-planned parties, it’s these little things that made every occasion especially memorable.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “Princess for a day

Thoughts?

