Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door

02nd December, 2014. 11:45am

LolaBoyNextDoorSmall

Photo c/o: stephanieperkins.com

What would you when you meet your first love again? The one who made you feel all the feelings in the world but disappeared right before your relationship even starts to bloom? What if the object of your affection, the one you tried so hard to forget and get over with suddenly comes back to your life again when you already have someone else? Who would you choose? The one that got away who reentered the picture, or the one who you thought was the one? To be honest, I don’t know what I would do if it was me. THANK GOD I HAVEN’T FELT THAT.

**Well, not really. At least that’s what I was trying to convince myself with.

Lola and the Boy Next Door had a slow start for me. Unlike Anna and the French Kiss that I love so dearly, this sequel by Stephanie Perkins didn’t touch me quick at first. But as the pages turn, as the chapters go by, I start finding myself losing some more sleep; unable to put it down. I think the ending was too soon; I’d actually want one more chapter, but at the same time, it allows me to fantasize about what happens next. Did Calliope win? What what happen in the dance?

As I was reading the book, I realized that I also find myself in Cricket and Lola; that not getting over someone feeling, and they’re right. There are just some people you can’t get over with, and it’s normal. It doesn’t mean you still want to be with them, but in a way, there will always be a part of you that will love them forever. Lola and Cricket was just too lucky a pair that they were still both available and was given a second chance.

And me? I still haven’t met the one who will give me the moon and the stars, but I’m hopeful. I know he’s out there, probably still flirting with someone else, but we’ll meet someday. We shall. And like Cricket and Lola’s story, and Anna and St. Clair, we would know we are each other’s “the one” when we found one another.

PS: (Non-story related review—I really love the paperback’s velvety feel. I almost don’t want to plastic cover it before I love how the book felt on my hands. Then again, I don’t want it to get dusty and dirty so I covered it. I’m actually thinking of re-covering the entire book with plastic again now that I’m done reading it. That doesn’t mean I’m OC, right? RIGHT?)

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

