On What It Takes To Be A “Disney Princess”

26th November, 2014. 4:00pm


It’s funny how calling someone something can make crazy fangirls go into frenzy. It all started when Philippines’ very own Pop Star Royalty and The Voice of the Philippines coach, Sarah Geronimo was hired by Disney Asia to record her own version of the song, The Glow, from the animated movie, Tangled. When the news came out, people argued whether it’s right to call her Disney Princess or not. I’m not saying she doesn’t have the right to be one, but technically, calling her a Disney Princess is wrong.

WHY? I’ll tell you why…

Idina Menzel as Elsa (Frozen)

Idina Menzel as Elsa (Frozen)
Photo c/o: youtube.com

Ming-Na Wen and Lea Salonga were Disney Princesses because (Wen – speaking and Salonga – singing) voiced Mulan; Jodi Benson was a Disney Princess for voicing Ariel in The Little Mermaid; Paige O’Hara was a Disney Princess because she voiced Belle in Beauty and The Beast; and lately, adding to the roster of Disney Princesses are Kristen Bell and Idina Menzel for lending their speaking and singing voices as Anna and Elsa in the movie Frozen. What do these women have in common? They were hired to do the job for one particular purpose—give life to the characters for the movie.

I tried to look for the real reason why Disney asked Sarah G to record her own interpretation of the song, since Tangled was released in 2010 (unless they’re coming up with a new Tangled movie), but I’m afraid I couldn’t give more information about this news. (**My guess is every news source that I found about this were all gotten from a Press Release. I should know because I write PRs for ONCE) But still, the question lingers—can Sarah Geronimo now be considered a Disney Princess or not?

I still say no, because if she is, does that mean that Nikki Gil, another Filipina who was also asked to record her own version of High School Musical 1 & 2 songs, Breaking Free and Gotta Go My Own Way, is also a Disney Princess? (**Okay, fine, so HSM wasn’t so much a Disney animated film as the others, but you get the point. Right?) What about Demi Lovato who recorded her own version of Frozen’s Let It Go, Christina Aguilera with Mulan’s Reflection, or Celine Dion when she and Peabo Bryson recorded Beauty and the Beast?

I don’t have anything against Sarah Geronimo because I firmly believe that next to Lea Salonga, she is one of the best artists in the Philippines. I’ve watched her career bloom. I saw her winning performance of Celine Dion’s To Love You More in the talent search, Star for a Night. Over the years, she’s proved that she’s more than just a copycat of Celine Dion. She can sing like a monster, she can dance, she can act. I see her behind the camera during TVOP tapings and ASAP live and she’s very professional; she’s quiet off-cam but she’s very good at what she does. But to call her a Disney Princess now? I don’t know. I’m not saying this because I’m biased because I’m a Lea Salonga fan. I adore Sarah Geronimo, too. Maybe I’m wrong and those fan girls are right, but still, it just feels a bit wrong to call her that early on.

However, if Disney does hire her to become a Disney Princess someday, I’d say she’s earned it. She deserves the title more than anyone (next to Lea Salonga, of course), but let’s not preempt what hasn’t happen, yet, shall we?

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

