(NaBloPoMo) Girls Like Girls

26th November, 2014. 5:00pm

NaBloPoMo, Wednesday, November 26

What is the most controversial thing you’ve ever written on your blog? What compelled you to write it?

Brittana_kisses

Photo c/o: glee.wikia.com

For this entry, I’m going to have to choose not the ones I have written for my blog, but the one that was published in MEG September 2008.  It was an article called, Girls Like Girls, which tackled about girls who found love on the company of other women. It was compelling (at the time) because the magazine has never done anything like it. I remember the editors had to battle it out with the higher-ups whether or not they should publish it. Of course, in the end the editors won. They published our article.

*Girls Like Girls is on my Portfolio, which is Password-Protected. Let me know via the comment section if you want to read it.

Girls Like Girls was a joint article with a very good friend, Veronica Inoturan. I chose this as my most controversial article yet because I bared my heart and soul into this. Writing the article was hard because I had first-hand experience on the topic. My cousin is a lesbian. I have friends who belong to the LGBT community. It was hard to write about my Mom on my début article with the magazine, but coming up with a topic so personal that you don’t want anyone else to know is doubly hard.

Like Remembering My Mom, I never told anyone about the article except my cousin, who we interviewed for the article. I forgot what the people’s reaction was now, but it was something that definitely got people talking. Quite frankly I don’t know if I can do it if it wasn’t for Nica. It was one of the best projects we had done together.

Now, as for my blog, I say my most controversial yet was Dear I’m-Not-Gonna-Say-Your-Name, only because it pushed me to say what I want to say to certain people in my mind. Still, nothing competes with Girls Like Girls. I had to strip my emotions to ten layers with that one.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

Thoughts?

