The Power of Introverts

20th November, 2014. 4:58pm

NaBloPoMo, Thursday, November 20

Do you have a book in you? Fact or fiction? Related to your blog or totally different?

Susan Cain Quiet

Photo c/o: alexislampley.blogspot.com

This week, I’m reading Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. It’s not YA (*Yes, I do read books other than Young Adult ones), it’s actually non-fiction (Psychology) but I love reading it. I haven’t even been through half of it, but I’m determined to finish it even though it’s taking me twice as long to finish a book.

As generations go by, the world is being filled with more and more extroverted people; those who are simply outgoing, energetic, life of the party. And then, there’s the other type of people; people like me—quiet, reserved, shy. For years, friends, families, and colleagues have been asking me why I’m so quiet in person but is very talkative on the internet or text. I think this book answers why:

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop TalkingReading this paragraph made me even more convinced that I am, indeed, an introvert. I don’t know why myself; why can’t I just be like my friends who are not having such a hard time speaking out? I used to think I’m just a chickenshit, but the more I read into Quiet, the more I realized I’m not; I just am an introvert, and there’s nothing they can do about it, nor will I ever want to change who and how I am… I think.

So is it related to my blog? Absolutely. It says a lot about my blog. When My Brain Farts is about the thoughts coming out of my mind—big or small, I spurt them out in here. No holds barred. Which is exactly what Susan Cain explains in her book—Introverts, like me, express the “real me” online. Remember what I told you guys in my Introducing Me page? I say all these things online but I will never, can never, blurt these out in person. Don’t ask why, because I don’t know myself. But reading Quiet? It makes me realize that I’m not alone; I’m not the only one who enjoys deep conversations instead of small (pointless) talks.

However, contrary to what all extroverts think, introverts like me doesn’t want to be left alone ALL THE TIME. We know how to have fun, too, you know. Just not ALL THE FREAKING TIME.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

4 thoughts on “The Power of Introverts

  1. That’s exactly how I am too ! Extrovert online, introvert offline. And people keep asking, ” Why are you so quiet?” Sometimes it gets annoying but like you said, I won’t change myself for people. Atleast we think twice before speaking instead of being rude. Now now I am adding another book to my ‘to-read’ book – list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What do you say when they ask you that question? I usually just say “I’m really just like this even at home” and normally they’d brush it off, but will ask it again some other time. And true! We, introverts, do think (and rethink) before speaking out. I highly suggest Quiet. It’s one of the best books for introverts out there! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m the same way, I’m uncomfortably shy in person, but I’ve showed my true personality (some times too much of it) countless times on the internet. In person I wouldn’t jump into a strangers conversation and share my two cense, but online I’ll happily comment on something I find interesting. Great post. I’m just dropping by from the NaBloPoMo listings by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

