When the door closes on you, open the windows

18th November, 2014. 4:02pm

NaBloPoMo, Tuesday, November 18

Tell us about one time that you benefitted from the kindness of strangers.

When I was in college, our Feature Writing professor asked us to write a feature article as one of our final projects for the subject. I was a college junior then, about a year and a half after my mom passed away. Since the event was still fresh, I wrote about that instead—how me and my Mom was from when I was a kid, up to the events following her death. It wasn’t until I met Nica that I realized I just wrote something a little more than just a school project.

I met Nica through MEG magazine’s then Friendster page; she was the moderator. After a few exchange of words, Nica and I decided to meet at the magazine’s go-see event taking place at a nearby mall. I went, article and mock-magazine in hand (me and my friends interviewed the magazine when we were sophomores so I thought I’d show it to Nica). When I gave her my projects, all I had in mind was to share with her what me and my friends did. A few days later, Nica called me and said that she showed my writings to the magazine’s then Editor-in-Chief and wanted to publish it.

Wait, what? My article? Published? But why?

This question ran through my mind as the days leading up to the release of the issue nears. I didn’t even tell anyone that I have an article coming up. When my sister found out about it, she showed it to everyone, which, in way, opened up their eyes about what was going through my mind when my Mom was sick and battling cancer. I thought Nica and the MEG team’s kindness will end with that, but it simply didn’t. They even handed me my first assignment.

I asked Nica, “Why me?” and she replied with, “Pierra says you could write. So, we want you to help me with this assignment.” As exciting as it sounds, deep inside I was terrified. There I was, 19 years old, awkward and introvert, about to go to different colleges to find the assigned students I’m about to interview… alone. Not only that, I was supposed to go back to the magazine’s office afterwards and write my story right away as well.

I didn’t know how I manage to do it and finish my task on time, but I did. After submitting my work, Nica congratulated me for a job well-done. She also told me that the EIC asked her to welcome me as the new intern. I was shocked because I haven’t even passed my résumé yet, although I really was hoping to get a chance to work for the magazine, but there they were, already welcoming me into their sacred workspace with open arms. The rest, as they say, was history.

Losing my Mom was the hardest, saddest, most painful thing I have ever experienced. But I gotta be honest, it was also the same experience that led me to working for my dream company. And if it wasn’t for the MEG team who so kindly gave me the opportunity to show what I can do and trust me enough to take on and finish challenging tasks in a short amount of time, I wouldn’t have this tale to tell you.

So thank you, to Nica; to Pierra, and all the MEG team who served as my mentors. I owe you everything.

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

One thought on “When the door closes on you, open the windows

Thoughts?

