Gift Cards

14th November, 2014. 5:08pm

The Daily Prompt’s By Hand asks:

What’s the best present you’ve ever received that was handmade by the giver, not store-bought? Tell us what made it so special.

When I was a kid, I used to give cards that I made myself. Whenever there’s an occasion, I would always dedicate some time making a card using a bond paper, some colored pens and colors, and whatever else I have at the moment. Before I share one of the best gifts I have ever received that was handmade by the giver, I wanted to share one of my own doing. It was a card I gave my Mom on Mother’s Day of the year 1997:

*I know. Don’t judge my grammar and spelling errors. It’s the thought that counts, you know!

I made this card before everything about our relationship changed. Although it wasn’t the last handmade card I gave her, it was my favorite.

Now, on to the best handmade present I’ve so far. My favorite? Everything my nephew and nieces gave me (so far).

From the birthday note they left on my door on my 27th birthday to the letter my niece, Phoebe gave me on my 28th birthday, and the uber-creative cards they handed me on my recent 29th birthday, everything they ever gave me was so precious to me. I’d definitely say that my work was better (**heh!) but who cares? They did it themselves and allotted time to do it just for me.

What made every single trinket my nephew and nieces gave me so special was the fact that they know me so much. They weren’t even made with colorful pens or special papers but the content of their message speaks so much about our relationship. It just feels good to be loved, even if we’re going through a rough road.

In last week’s episode of Once Upon a Time, the Snow Queen said, “Family isn’t about blood. It is a bond far stronger than mere genetics.” It’s true. Because I know, I can feel it, what we have is more than just mere genetics or blood. It’s true and pure love.

KTHXBYE.

 

 

Jhack

2 thoughts on “Gift Cards

  1. Pingback: Handmade Friendship | My Own Champion

  2. Pingback: Handmade Friendship | My Own Champion

Thoughts?

