Forever Young

14th November, 2014. 5:38pm

NaBloPoMo, Friday, November 14

Do you enjoy growing old or do you fight against it?

old_young

Photo c/o: eyegiene.sdsu.edu

Why is it that when we were little kids, we were hurrying to grow up but when we finally reach the adult stage, we then get addicted to looking young again? Does that mean that, if a vampire or a witch came up to you and told you he’ll give you the ability to stay forever young, you’d say yes?

I’d say… NO THANKS. I’d rather embrace old age with open arms.

I mean, sure, growing old is somewhat scary because we all know that every day is one step closer to our grave, but why are some people so scared of aging? Ever since I entered adulthood, I was never concerned about getting old. I never lie about my age. I love that I don’t look my age. *Well, that’s some people’s problem, girl; looking old. Yeah, yeah, but why go under the knife or be so freaking vain just to “look young?”

Charmed "How to Make a Quilt Out of Americans"

“Right, well, you know, I really hope that demon of vanity isn’t after you because your soul would be toast.”
Photo c/o: charmed-again.tumblr.com

A few weeks ago, my Dad asked my sister to look for a shampoo or anything that could fix his hair condition because he got allergic to the last hair color he bought. I didn’t say anything, but I just really want to smack him in the head. His hair wasn’t even gray yet! He doesn’t even look 58 years old! Why is he so vain about getting a few gray hairs? I rolled my eyes and silently sniggered when he wasn’t looking.

Meryl Streep Then and Now

Meryl Streep (Then and Now)

George Clooney Then and Now

George Clooney (Then and Now)

Ming-Na Wen Then and Now

Ming-Na Wen (Then and Now)

I know that not every one of us has a great gene pool like some celebrities who are aging gracefully (Meryl Streep, Ming-Na Wen, George Clooney, Robert Downey Jr., Helen Mirren or Tina Fey, anyone?), but don’t you want to welcome the old age looking like yourself without having Science alter what God gave you? I certainly do.

KTHXBYE.

 

 

Jhack

3 thoughts on “Forever Young

  1. I care more about trying to keep myself feeling as good as I physically did when I was younger. That is what I miss more than anything. I am not in horrible shape now, but compared to 20 I am not who I was. Again, I don’t really care that my jeans are larger or that I have less hair it is the not being able to play ball four days a week because my body can’t take the pounding any more.
    Or the ability to live on 3 hours of sleep for extended periods of time. I have so much to do, lots of fun stuff too and this sleep thing gets in the way. 🙂

    Like

  2. Baby Boomers, especially do not want to be accused of being “old.” Your info was great and having awesome genes is helpful. The best thing anyone can do to look “young” is avoid the sun, and if you can’t, then wear a minimum of 30 SPF sunscreen ALL THE TIME!

    Like

Thoughts?

