Finding My Muse

12th November, 2014. 5:30pm

NaBloPoMo, Wednesday, November 12

Have you ever had extended writer’s block? How long did it last? What did you do to break out of it, and do you have tips for other bloggers?

typewriter

Photo c/o: TheOpenNotebook.com

In 2009, three years after I entered the corporate world, I posted a blog post on my Multiply account, asking anyone if they have seen my muse. I wrote it because I was drawing blank in the middle of writing an article… an article that was supposed to be submitted the day after.

When I was working at an office, I used to write an average of 35 100-150-word-articles using the same set of keywords in 4 hours. I can finish double the amount of an average staff in 7 hours. It even got to the point where my boss allowed me to stop working two hours before my shift ended, letting me do whatever I want (ie; Twitter, Facebook, Youtube, ANYTHING except leave early). He even had to ask me to “slow down” because my project buddies “could not keep up.” I work 6 to 7 hours a day for five days in a week. I had the best time of my life doing what I do every day; my office mates envied me. My boss and my client called me fast writer and superwoman.

That was when I started blocking out.

After my boss told me to slow down, it dawned on me, “why would I slow down? Shouldn’t I serve as an inspiration to my office mates? Make them believe that if I can do it fast, so can they?” But no. Instead of getting praised for a job well done, I was told to quit working for (my) project after lunch so I can focus on other projects. At first I didn’t mind, because I was still able to do my task without my client realizing that I was working for him for only half the day, until I realized how wrong it was for my client’s part.

Because of that, I started losing interest with the projects they gave me. No matter how I tried to write, nothing ever comes out. Not a single word. It was as if my muse went AWOL. I only got her back when I started working at home, which was in 2011. Yup, it took me that long.

Little by little, I started writing again. Now, if I can’t write, I think it wasn’t because I’m drawing blank, but simply because my mind was wandering elsewhere. And you know what I do? I just keep doing it, whatever it is that I’m doing at that moment. Not write, no. I never force myself to write something shitty and uninspiring. Not anymore. In my world, writer’s block doesn’t exist. In my world, if you’re drawing blank, you’re not having a writer’s block. You’re simply not inspired enough (to come up with something ingenious).

**UPDATE: I ought to share a comment made by MEG’s former Editor-in-Chief, Pierra Calasanz-Labrador when I posted my ‘Muse’ blog entry on my Multiply. This has helped me get through my “writer’s block” and I hope it will help you, too.

pierramuse

KTHXBYE.

Jhack

5 thoughts on “Finding My Muse

  1. Pingback: Dear Dream Reader… | When My Brain Farts

    • That’s okay. Don’t force it. When I’m not in the mood to write, I don’t. Piece of advice, have a pen and paper at hand just in case (or your phone, iPad, iPod; anywhere that you can write on a notepad). My iPhone and iPod are both filled with unpublished and unfinished notes but I don’t care. I like seeing them there. I’m sure you’ll find the strength to write again someday. Maybe your muse just prefers to go on vacay for a while? 🙂

      Like

Thoughts?

